blueollie

The NFL protests: disappointment

When I first saw the NFL protests I was hopeful. After all, the NFL fan base is very diverse and I thought that we might finally get some meaningful discussion between different types of people. Yes, I knew that a large subgroup of fans would be upset; there is a reason the NFL does the “canned showy patriotism” stuff.

But, alas no such luck.

Even among some who believe in freedom of speech: they claimed that an employer has a right to enforce PR actions of their employees (I agree with this) but then go on to say that the protests are deeply unpopular with “NFL fans”.

This misses a key fact: not all NFL fans feel the same way.

No, I am not talking about liberals like me; I know that I am in the minority.

I am talking about the large African American fan base; the NFL needs them too..and can’t afford to alienate them. That is probably the main reason you haven’t seen a major crackdown, aside from the Cowboy’s owner (who even agreed to a compromise “kneeling before the anthem and joined the players in doing that).

In short: same old stuff; people refuse to look beyond their own statistically small bubble.

Here is one poll which shows that the country is split.

November 8, 2017 Posted by | football, NFL, social/political | | Leave a comment

Both up and down…

Personally: I’ve been sort of “bleah” and distant from most lately. This isn’t a depressive episode as I still enjoy things and am very much looking forward to this weekend of football. (Illini, then Bears..always love a football double, the latter with a dear friend). I really enjoyed last weekend too. It isn’t a relationship/friendship thing either; might be a combination of things including lessening daylight, professional stuff, it might be adjusting to aging; who in the hell knows?

But today’s elections in Virginia and New Jersey are making me feel a bit better; even some Republican areas are rejecting Trumpism. But the real proof will come in the 2018 House races.

But many political discussions disgust me. For one, there are many who “just know” false things (example: creationists) Talking to them is, at best, futile. And here is the rub: a lot of what one “knows” is what one picks up from the environment.

Think about it: there were smart people who lived 10,000 years ago, and what did these people know about the world they lived in? So if someone is socially isolated and those around them believe certain things, why should they listen to you if you tell them something different?

It is very, very tough to change one’s mind about an important belief. I’ve done so from time to time, but usually it has been a gradual process. And yes, sometimes I get an insight that I was blind to for a very long time.

Workout notes: yesterday: weights; usual PT, pull ups (5 sets of 10, good), 10 x 135, 6 x 185, 9 x 170 bench, 10 x 135 incline, military: seated, supported: 15 x 55, standing: 10 x 45, 10 x 45, rows: 2 sets of 10 x 55, 1 set of 10 x 60, goblet squats: 10 x 45, 10 x 50, 10 x 54 (sill), yoga later in the evening.

today: easy 6 mile walk.

November 8, 2017 Posted by | political/social, politics, social/political, walking, weight training | Leave a comment