blueollie

Not me. Ever.

I’ve been following the “Me too” thing and, well, I wonder exactly what that means. Of course, being pressured for sex from a boss certainly counts, or being assaulted.

I know that when I was a young teen, we sometimes slapped girls on the butt (sometimes they got us back) but that eventually ended as we matured. I don’t know if that counts.

So, as an adult I had to say “Not me.” But…
I do remember a time when a gym worker that I had made small talk with swatted my butt unexpectedly. But I didn’t see that as a big deal; I never felt threatened or even annoyed; in fact, I think we saw a movie together (at a later time). I saw that as a clumsy attempt at the romance game.

But were it a guy just smacking a woman’s ass …would that have counted as “me too”?

Note: in my case, there was NO “power difference”; I was perfectly capable of saying “don’t do that again, else I will report you..”, etc. Then again, I was physically stronger than she was; in fact, much more so. I was not afraid of her by any means.

And yes, I know that there are guys who have been abused in this manner including some physically intimidating guys (example, example) It can happen to anyone, though statistically speaking, it happens to women more often.

Workout notes: Monday, weights. Crowded; physical therapy, pull ups (5 sets of 10: good), incline press: 10 x 135, 4 x 160, 8 x 150, military press: standing: 10 x 50, 10 x 45, machine: 10 x 90 (each arm), machine rows: 3 sets of 10 x 110. then light yoga, including headstand.

Tuesday: easy 10K plus in Bradley Park; saw a couple of deer on the hill near Cornstalk. Fall weather!

October 17, 2017 Posted by | social/political, walking, weight training, yoga | | Leave a comment