blueollie

DNF again (3 of 4)

No easy way to say it: I dnf’ed at close to mile 17, but I had to walk the “walk of shame” 1.2 miles to the start.
So, in terms of road marathons: 3 dnf’s in the last 4 attempts (2 QC marathons were heat related..mile 20); this one was my going out too fast for my abilities because of the 6 hour time limit.

Reality: I no longer have 2:25 half marathon speed (when I could walk in the 5:30-5:40 range); it now takes me 2:4x to do a half and that is not enough margin of error for a 6 hour time limit. To finish, I need to be trained AND have non-hot weather AND have a 6:30-7 hour time limit so I can take it out at a realistic 14 minute pace.

And I need to lose at least 10 lbs.; 15 would be better.

So, I don’t view this as a failure on my part as much as my taking an challenge that I am no longer up to. The writing is on the wall; my 2012 marathon: got sick; rested 1 hour; finished just under 7 hours. 2013, 2016: run/walks in the 5:40-5:50 range. 2015: walk in perfect conditions: 5:48. The trend is clear.

Splits: 1:02:55 (5), 2:08:14 (10; uphill), 2:50:20 (half marathon), 3:18:34 (15; included bathroom; crashed here) I could not longer even sustain a 17 minute pace at this point, so I told race officials that I was dropping.

Weather: warmed up quite a bit by about half way; first half was nice and cool (albeit humid)

But there was some fun too.

My plan: stay behind the 5:30/2:45 (half) pace groups for the first 8-10 miles, then see what I could sustain. I really needed to hit the half at 2:50 or so to stand a chance..and I did. But by then the legs were gone; I was about 3:03:30 at mile 14 and starting to slow badly. The half marathon had turned off and I was solo, solo, solo.

The 5:30 pace guy was going a bit faster than I wanted to; mile 1 was 12:18 (fine for a half marathon..not a marathon). So I dropped back and walked with Cindy, the 2:45 pace person who was more or less solo. We kept each other company until the hill at 7.5 miles and I let her go; we exchanged names. Chatting with her and some of the others was very pleasant.

Afterward, I waited for Mat to finish (5:07) and chatted with Jennifer and others.

Seeing others along the way was a real treat; Theresa, Barbara and Cassie took photos of me along the way.

I saw this shirt at about mile 2; it made me laugh.

Theresa took this shot of Cindy and me.

Barbara took these four photos near mile 10, near our house.

Cassie got this one of me, between mile 12 and half way; I was starting to crumble.

Mat finishing.

Jennifer and me after the race.

Workout notes: on the road; got a Riverplex workout first. rotator cuff, bench press: 10 x 135, 1 x 185, 10 x 165, incline: 10 x 135. pull ups: 5 sets of 10 (at least, maybe 6), military: dumbbell: 10 x 50 standing, 10 x 45 standing, 5 x 140 new machine, rows: 3 sets of 10 x 50 dumbbell. light yoga, including headstand. squats: to the bench: 10 x 35, 10 x 50, 10 x 70.

October 9, 2017 - Posted by | Friends, marathons, walking, weight training

1 Comment »

  1. I’ve found the most difficult thing as I’ve gotten older is recognizing I’m NOT 25 or 30 anymore – not even 40 or 50 or even late 50’s! Making the mental/emotional adjustment is really tough without feeling i’m giving up. So I try to think of it as modifying. GREAT photos!

    Comment by LYNN ELLEN DEMPSEY | October 9, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

