blueollie

And Democratic politics depress me even more…

Sigh. Now we have Hillary Clinton supporters fighting with Bernie Sanders supporters. Yes, I was “Clinton all the way” this time around, and I think it is joke that anyone takes Sanders seriously for 2020.

And so Hillary Clinton came out with a book that I am interested in. But, of course, she is catching heat from not only the Sanders wing and from Republicans (“sore loser”) but also from many who think that her time as a national politician has passed. Frankly, I belong in the latter camp as well, but I am still interested to read what she has to say about the election.

But some of the Clinton supporters: AAARRRRRGGGHH. They are as unreasonable as some Trump supporters.
Some refuse to entertain the notion that she wasn’t that good from the podium..she was not a natural politician. She didn’t have a sense of when to “slogan it” and when to give a nuanced “lawyer like” answer. She did not have the show-biz skills that Obama and Bill Clinton had/have.

Some refuse to accept the fact that she is deeply unpopular; her approval rating is lower than Donald Trump’s. “Why, her book signings are sold out” they’ll respond. True, but “so what”? 30 percent approval rating still means that a lot of people still like her..and that she will be in demand in many circles.

And then you hear the nonsense about “She doesn’t need permission from men to write her book”..”she won’t be silenced” (that fat book contract is hardly “silencing”). Oh boy. What they appear to mean is that they don’t want her to get criticism. Of course she will get it, and there is nothing her supporters can do about it. And yes, some (most?) of the criticism will be incompetent. But that comes with the territory..as do book reviews, critiques and the like.

I can really do without the “personality cult”. She ran…ran a lack-luster campaign and wasn’t able to overcome Cambridge Analytics, Russian interference (in the form of fake news and document hacks) and the baggage of her long history…as well as her inability to say things like “ok, I screwed up..my fault, PERIOD” Such statements were always followed by “tl;dr” explanations which, while true, didn’t help her politically.

Ironically she got the reputation for being dishonest when in fact, she was the more honest candidate (by this measure). Her personality DID not help her though. Again, she was a poor politician, at least in terms of getting elected.

And do not get me started on Bernie Sanders. For one, he is not a Democrat. For another: he is mostly bluster and empty, “never going to happen” promises. If he is the best we can do for 2020, we deserve to lose again.

September 13, 2017 Posted by | Democrats, political/social, politics, politics/social | , | Leave a comment

Goat Rant 4: how to get me to skip your post/article part 2

Ok, I posted a part I of this. Here is part II:

first, let me make this clear: there is nothing wrong with writing for a specific audience. I do this when I write mathematical articles. So having me scroll past or otherwise ignore what you write might not be a bad thing.

So, I’ll merely give my algorithm for deciding “probably nothing to see here”: I listed titles that turn me off. Now I’ll focus on buzz words.

If an article starts off with buzz words like “misogyny”, “racism”, “patriarchy”, “deep state”, “God”, “Bible”, “family values” “Islamophobia”, etc. I tend to just scroll past.

Reason: these buzz words appear to be associated with religions of a sort, and I am not interested in dogma.

Now I am interested in justice issues. And if you want to make the case that, say, African Americans are treated unfairly in a job applications process, then I am willing to give your evidence a hard look. If you want to make the case that women aren’t given a fair shake in a give profession, then make your argument and provide your evidence. I’ll seriously consider it. And for the record, I HAVE been convinced of these things, many times. But statements such as “it is about the misogyny” might draw applause in some quarters, but little more than a “scroll past” reaction from me.

But I respond to arguments, logic, data and facts, not to bumper stickers.

September 13, 2017 Posted by | ranting, social/political | Leave a comment

Goat Rant 3: what is an academic “success story”?

There are different kind of success stories. But the ones that I think about are those of the following variety: underprepared student shows up with low SAT/ACT scores. They struggle. They get “worked with” and somehow cobble together a degree. Now is that a success?

Well, it depends on how you think of it. Imagine someone struggling in medical school and just not being good at it..graduating with a medical degree. Do you want that doctor? Or what about the flight school person who barely scrapes by? Do you want to fly with that pilot?

To me, part of success is finding something that you are reasonably good at. Believe me, you wouldn’t want to live in any shelter that I made..you wouldn’t want me to operate on you..or to play for your competitive sports team.

So, to see if that “success story” really is a success story, I’d want to know something about what happened afterward….(example: did that marginal engineering student go on to become a P. E. or to do well in an engineering firm?)

Workout notes: Monday: usual weight routine (rotator cuff, hip hikes, toe raises), 5 sets of 10 pull ups, bench press: 10 x 135, 4 x 190, 8 x 170, incline: 10 x 135, military: 2 sets of 10 dumbbell (50, 45), 10 x 90 machine, rows: 3 sets of 10 x 110 machine. rope skips: 99, 50, goblet squats: 2 sets of 10 x 50 to the sill, 10 x 70 to 20 inches. Then 2 mile walk outside.

Tuesday: 2+ to the W. Peoria track, 1 home, 2.1 in 24:56 (20:12 for the first 4 laps..had trouble speeding up).

September 13, 2017 Posted by | education, walking, weight training | Leave a comment