blueollie

It is not every day that I get owned this badly…

September 8, 2017 Posted by | Friends, humor | Leave a comment

Not feeling it but…

Workout notes: weights followed by 4 miles in 45:05 “run” on the treadmill. 10 min. at 5.1, 10 at 5.2, then up every .25 miles to get to 3.5, then up every .1 That is what constitutes a “fast finish” for me.

Then some yoga at home.

Weights: rotator cuff, hip hikes, toe raises (yadda yadda), pull ups: 3 sets of 10 (not bad) then bench presses:
10 x 135, 1 x 185 (thought about trying to max, but 185 felt “heavy”), 5 x 185, 8 x 170
incline: 10 x 135
2 sets of 10 pull ups
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 110
military: standing dumbbell: 10 x 50, 10 x 45, 20 x 40

Ok, you can’t tell that I lift by looking at my body, but my hands do have some cool calluses.

Confession: the state of society and politics has me down. The Democrats are in disarray, Trump is a disaster and the Republicans are incompetent.

It appears that one side wants a boutique society where every single personal nuance is accommodated by society and the other denies anything resembling a scientific fact. Yes, I remain a liberal but one who believes that one is not entitled to a captive audience and who believes that each individual has to make some adjustments to get along with society.

I’ll discuss this in more detail in a later post…but we’ve gotten to the point where a woman’s religious retreat was called out as being “discriminatory” by…the “gender fluid” people.

September 8, 2017 Posted by | running, weight training | Leave a comment

Frustration and communication

In terms of talking to others: well, I have reached a tipping point of sorts. I engage far less for several reasons.

For one, when someone, say, makes a statement on social media, they might be doing so for a variety of different reasons:

1. Venting
2. Wanting “you aren’t alone” type responses
3. Cheerleading
4. Inspiring the like minded to action
5. Providing information
6. Attempting to persuade someone
7. Wanting a discussion which may be
a. an attempt to “insult the other side”
b. an attempt to “win a debate”
c. or to explore a topic further; exchange facts and ideas, etc.

And because I am socially awkward, I have trouble knowing what is what…why is the person posting that.
And there was a time when I liked conversation, but now-a-days, I often find people who merely “shout slogans” and provide strings of adjectives. And as far as ideas and facts, there is often disagreement as to what constitutes a fact and many have no clue as to how to make a valid inference. And some ideas really are nuanced; many people simply don’t “get” them (e. g. conditional probability) and it is useless to try to explain it to them.

Now I certainly agree with this meme, but the idea that people search for “facts” that, at least superficially comfort them rather than “digging for the truth” is NOT, NOT limited to Trump supporters.

What is worse: I can really see several sides and understand many different emotional reactions.

One one hand, I can see why many men my age might be inclined toward Republicanism. After all, right now, it seems that if you are doing ok financially, it feels as if leaches will find you. I said “feels” because there is something to be said at being at one’s peak earning power, and that, like one’s physical strength, does not last forever.

On the other hand, the current crop of Republicans are incredibly incompetent; they peddle “zombie lies” and falsehoods and can’t run anything correctly. They deny science, push crackpot economics and screw up basic things.

But back to the Democrats: we have our factions. The Hillary people can’t seem to grasp that she, fairly or not, is amazingly unpopular. But the Sanders camp is a bunch of crackpots who think that he would have won; they don’t seem to get that things like “minimum wage” is a huge issue for most voters. Most of us do better than that and no one wants to think that is where they will end up. Don’t get me wrong; I think that there should be one and there is an optimum one that might vary from location to location. Too high or too low is no good.

Even Trump hate divides us. I don’t like Trump because I think that he is incompetent. I am not that bothered that he may have called Rosie O’Donnell a “fat pig” (if what is what it was) or if some aspiring starlet let him pat her on the butt. (remember, the infamous remark was “they LET YOU grab them…”

Now I disapprove of his behavior AS A PRESIDENT and AS A PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE; to me, deportment is part of the job. But it is lack of knowledge, his lack of interest in obtaining such knowledge and his current deportment that bothers me.

Oh well…baseball season (for me) is exciting and football season is underway.

September 8, 2017 Posted by | political/social, politics, politics/social | | Leave a comment

Chiefs win playoff game 4-3

Last night: we had a thrilling playoff game, that saw the Chiefs take an early lead, fall back, pull to a tie, and win it in the bottom on the 9’th with a single that bounced over the head of the infielder.

Here is a 9’th inning shot; the Chiefs had a runner on 3’rd with one out..notice how close the infield was. A walk put runners at 1’st and 3’rd, and then came the single.
The Bandits started a major league pitcher; the first couple of innings went by very quickly; then came the drama. The bullpen hurt the QC as they walked a lot of batters.

It was chilly; so I bundled up a bit.

Right now, the second game is being played in the Quad Cities (Davenport) and the third game will be played there, IF QC wins tonight. If the Chiefs win, we get more playoff baseball.

Workout notes

6 mile walk; my “on/off” (full on for the last lap; slightly longer “on” for the second to last lap) 27:00/25:54 = 52:54 for 4.2 miles. Glorious weather.

September 8, 2017 Posted by | baseball, walking | | Leave a comment