blueollie

Goat rant 1: long walk…

The first photo shows my actual time. One modification: I did NOT go around the ball field wall, but I did double back to the Riverplex (from the path near the beach volleyball court) to use the restroom. That is approximately the same distance. I was 2:54 at the turn around but managed a Glenn to home 1:13:35. (5 miles). That one minute extra was on the first downhill leg from Glenn to Forrest Hill.

The rant: (ok, whine)

1. I remember my running days. My “20 miler” was about a 2:50 to 3:10 event…maybe 3:20 on a bad day. I often ran without water and just stopped at a nearby fountain along the way. And I didn’t need bathroom stops as I sweated heavily.

NOW: 5 hour event, I pack water, money, salt tablets (they keep nausea away) and yes, nutrition tablets too. And yes, I have to stop for bathroom breaks as not only am I out longer, I sweat a bit less. And my “ok, use the bathroom, gather my stuff, put my orthotics in my walking shoes, lube up, etc. takes 30-40 minutes. Gads…so much for just going. It almost feels as if I am going out for an expedition. Damn.

2. And these walks go through phases. The first part of this walk didn’t go well at all…my attitude got worse the longer I went..I felt sluggish and exceptionally slow. I was almost ready to pack it in early. But I wasn’t feeling sick, nauseated …anything. I just felt sluggish and slow, and that is not a reason to quit.

But somewhere around mile 9, I started to feel better and I actually enjoyed the final 9-10 miles of the walk. The first part of the walk was discouraging..the final part was encouraging. And mind you, it was warming up. Yes, I know that the part from Hooters (on the River) to Sheridan/Northmore (near Midstate College) is a 8.6 mile stretch that is net uphill and the return from the Tower to my house is net downhill. But in the past I’ve felt terrible on the downhill return stretch; not today.

3. I cannot handle the mileage. Yes, this was my 4’th 20, and I also have 2 18’s and 3 half marathon races. But IF I’ve done any speed work in the week, I feel it on my weekend 20. Forget racing/20 on back to back days; that used to be a staple. Not anymore. Ok, once in a while…
Let’s just say that now-a-days, I have to work hard to do fewer miles than I once did.

Is the marathon worth it? Well…I am looking forward to it, but I won’t finish in the allotted time if I don’t train hard. The days of a road marathon being a “train through” or speedwork to build up to something else are over for me. Yes, when I did 24 hour events of 100 milers, walking 26.2 miles at 12 mpm is “speedwork”, at least it was for me.

Oh well, what did I expect. At 58, I should be grateful that I am out there at all. I am debating whether next Saturday’s workout should be a “faster 15” or a “slower 20” as it is two weeks prior to Quad Cities…I want to get it this time!!!! There is a local half marathon on Sunday, BUT the Illinois vs. Western Kentucky game kicks off at 7 and I won’t get home until after midnight…and the half has a 7am start. I suppose that IF I wake up on my own by 5, I’ll just register “same day” and do my best. The last time I tried that, it did not go well.

September 3, 2017 - Posted by | marathons, running, walking

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

