blueollie

Trump voters and personal malaise

The personal malaise: for some reason, I’ve had a bit of tickle in my throat over the past few days and haven’t felt good at all. I am, well, kind of antsy, throat has a tickle, eyes burn a bit. BUT, my workouts have been fine, and when I am really coming down with something, my workouts usually tank.

Yesterday’s weights and run were good, today’s walk: 2 outside, 1 track (13:03, off/on), treadmill walk (start 10 minutes at 4.6 mph, then upped it..37:35 at 3, 38:50 5K) was fine. Last night’s yoga class exposed my weaknesses, but it was fine too.

Is it allergies, or do I have some sort of low-grade “something”?

Trump voters: this is a decent read. Roughly speaking: they don’t like the KKK or the Nazis, but they think Trump is doing ok and that Obama was divisive.

About the latter: I think that it stems from what I call “cultural inflexibility”. They see “true America” in one specific way and too much deviation from that box is “unAmerican”. So if a president says something to the effect “you know, African Americans might have a legitimate grievance here”…well, if it is a Republican saying it, they might raise an eyebrow. A white Democrat: well, they see it as political pandering. And a black Democrat: DIVISIVE! HE IS TEARING THE COUNTRY APART.

To them, BLM is criminal coddling (“if you’ve done nothing wrong, the police won’t do anything to you”) And very few of them are persuadable…and none of them would ever be persuaded by me.

Anything that they haven’t experienced, well, just isn’t true. And if Fox News tells you, well, they are telling the truth. I’ve had a few of them actually tell ME what I do in my own classroom! I tartly retorted that there isn’t some unAmerican way to solve a calculus problem.

August 17, 2017 - Posted by | illness, walking |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

