blueollie

A Trump-free issues post…

This made me chuckle and cringe. Yeah, you see this, though I don’t see much of this in pure math. Once in a while, an especially hostile student might claim that I made some logical blunder (yes, I make a “go too fast” arithmetic error from time to time). But for the most part, I am shielded from this. Other professors do encounter this though.

The Google memo: you can read about the situation here and a critique of the memo itself here and another one here.

No, I did not read the memo and so won’t comment on its merits or lack thereof.

I will say the following: if one wants to try to be as fair as possible to underrepresented groups (a good thing) one has to find where the problems are. Is it that one isn’t getting many qualified applicants, OR is it that qualified applicants are declining your job offer, or is it that they are either choosing not to stay at your job, or is it that they have a lower than predicted success rate at your job? Those are different situations which require different remedies.

And it is possible for a well intended “increase diversity” program to be poorly designed, ill conceived or poorly executed. A worthy goal does not an “effective program” make. And a harsh critique of a program is NOT always a rejection of the program’s goal.

Workout notes: AM: weights then a 4 mile walk; I couldn’t make myself run:
hip hikes, toe raises, rotator cuff, pull ups (15-15-10-10), incline: 10 x 135, 5 x 160, 10 x 140, military: 10 x 50, 10 x 45, 20 x 40 (standing dumbbell), rows (Hammer) 3 sets of 10 x 200.
rope skips (9, 17, 36, 33, 30), goblet squats: 10 x 50 (20 inch depth), 10 x 60 deeper, 10 x 70 (20 inch), 4 mile walk.

pm: Mama T exercise class; got two “spandex babe” hugs today (Cassie spotted me in the parking lot)

August 10, 2017 - Posted by | social/political, walking, weight training

1 Comment »

  1. Would it be OK if I cross-posted this article to WriterBeat.com? There is no fee; I’m simply trying to addx more content diversity for our community and I thought this was well-written. I’ll be sure to give you complete credit as the author. If “OK” please let me know via email.

    Autumn
    AutumnCote@WriterBeat.com

    Comment by Autumn Cote | September 25, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

