blueollie

Will Trump realize my worst fears?

My fear of Trump was not his agenda; we’ve had presidents with conservative agendas before. I disagree with the approach, of course. But I realize that I won’t agree with the policies of every president.

It was Trump’s lack of stability and his unwillingness to listen to those who know what they are talking about that troubled me the most…by far…and more so than his vulgar social media persona.

I was reminded of the Vietnam war which killed between 1.3 and 4.2 million people. It was sold to the US as “Communism vs. the West” when, in fact, Vietnam wanted self determination (who doesn’t?) The Vietnamese and the Chinese were ancient enemies and there was little chance that they would have anything more than a brief “alliance of convenience” to get rid of the US. The Fog of War discusses this. If you haven’t seen it, it goes 1:45 but is well worth it.

Now Trump is irresponsibly shooting his mouth off with regards to North Korea. That is just so irresponsible and childish…exactly what I don’t want a President of the United States to be. This is NOT a Rambo movie.

No, I doubt that North Korea can actually hit the US with anything resembling a reliable weapon. And yes, North Korea will be annihilated if they fight the United States. But at what cost, especially to those in South Korea and Japan (and other nearby countries)?

I sure wish that we had a stable person as President right now.

But I suppose it is one way to rally the rubes.

Workout notes Running was too painful, so I walked a hilly 5 mile course (Cornstalk) at right around a 15 minute pace. I felt much better afterward.

August 9, 2017 - Posted by | politics, politics/social, walking, world events |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

