blueollie

It isn’t that simple…

Ah, I remember when I was a kid.

I was in grade school and was introduced to a table top model of the solar system.

Then I remembered reading that solar eclipses were rare..and happened every time the moon passed between the sun and earth.
I looked at the model and asked my teacher: “if this model is accurate, why don’t we get a solar eclipse every orbit?”

Of course, she didn’t know.

By the time I got into high school, I found an astronomy book that explained why (short answer: the orbits are not in the same 2 dimensional plane).

But the moral: the solar system was vastly more complicated than a table top model can model.

I also read up on “how we might go to Mars” and wondered why the scientists just didn’t go in a straight line path; things like momentum, fuel considerations, etc. just did not compute in my little pea brain.

It was more complicated that I realized at the time.

Now of course, I was a kid. But the “simple answer to a complex problem lives on..and we see that when, say, Trump supporters, Sanders supporters and libertarians try to discuss a topic like healthcare. That trying to get something that works from where we are right now is hideously complicated …well, that is just lost on many.

August 1, 2017 - Posted by | science, social/political

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

