blueollie

Off to do admin stuff

Yep, I got money to go to the conference. Now I have to file the paperwork. ugh.

Workout notes: 3 miles outside, and a slow “Deek” workout (25 laps, 2 laps on, 1 off) 12:40, 12:17, 12:21, 1:28 for 38:47. Not the fastest. But hopefully this will perk me up a bit.

August 1, 2017 Posted by | walking | Leave a comment

It isn’t that simple…

Ah, I remember when I was a kid.

I was in grade school and was introduced to a table top model of the solar system.

Then I remembered reading that solar eclipses were rare..and happened every time the moon passed between the sun and earth.
I looked at the model and asked my teacher: “if this model is accurate, why don’t we get a solar eclipse every orbit?”

Of course, she didn’t know.

By the time I got into high school, I found an astronomy book that explained why (short answer: the orbits are not in the same 2 dimensional plane).

But the moral: the solar system was vastly more complicated than a table top model can model.

I also read up on “how we might go to Mars” and wondered why the scientists just didn’t go in a straight line path; things like momentum, fuel considerations, etc. just did not compute in my little pea brain.

It was more complicated that I realized at the time.

Now of course, I was a kid. But the “simple answer to a complex problem lives on..and we see that when, say, Trump supporters, Sanders supporters and libertarians try to discuss a topic like healthcare. That trying to get something that works from where we are right now is hideously complicated …well, that is just lost on many.

August 1, 2017 Posted by | science, social/political | Leave a comment

Addicted to baseball….

So, finally a day…but the Chiefs played a noon game and it is still summertime.

Ok, there weren’t many here to see it, but I had a first row seat and watched the chiefs win 4-3. Most of the damage was done on 2 home runs, one of which went across the street and drove in a second run. That gave them a 3-0 lead on Timber Rattlers in the second, which they held..though they tied it in the 6’th with a 2 run home run of their own. The Chiefs retook the lead with a solo home run and held it the rest of the way.

That made up for last night.

Part of my daily exercise was to walk to and from the game (about 1.5 miles each way; roughly 30 minutes of street walking each way).

I did lift earlier (after sleeping in):
rotator cuff, hip hikes, toe raises
goblet squats: 10 x 25, 10 x 50, 10 x 60, 5 x 70 (bench)
pull ups: 5 sets of 10 (good)
bench press: 10 x 135, 5 x 185, 8 x 170 (empty gym..didn’t push it)
incline press: 10 x 135
military press: 15 x 55 seated, supported (dumbbells), 10 x 45 standing, 20 x 40 standing
rows: 2 sets of 10 x 55, 10 x 60
abs: 2 sets of 12 twist crunch, 10 yoga leg lifts
head stand (not quite that steady but got it done)

overall, I am feeling ok, though it has been too long since I’ve done a long walk (18 plus miles): 18, 14 (RR half), 10, another half this weekend)

August 1, 2017 Posted by | baseball, walking, weight training | | Leave a comment