blueollie

Unreasonable anxiousness

It seems as if, more and more, I get a bit anxious before I travel. It usually goes fine and I suspect that this trip will as well.

Twitter: I kind of stepped into it:

Wow..almost 1000 likes. Oh, I’ve heard from some..well, I’d assume second rate Russian bots and some not-so-bright dissenters too.

Problems of people with small butts
We often hear about the problems of those with big butts Well, those of us with small butts also have problems. For example, if I forget to tighten that drawstring on my shorts, the shorts start to slide down when I do pull ups or rope skips! And there are flip turns in the pool…

Workout notes: hip hikes, rotator cuff, pull ups (5 sets of 10), incline presses: 10 x 135, 4 x 160, 8 x 150 (hips were fine), military (dumbbell) 15 x 55 seated, supported, 20 x 40 standing, machine: 10 x 200. rows: 2 sets of 10 x 55 dumbbell, 10 x 110 machine. Headstand (went ok), 20 rope skips (shorts started to slide)

run: 11:37 first mile on the treadmill…just was NOT into it, so I walked 3 more miles outside, focusing on posture. They were taking down a tree in upper Bradley park.

July 26, 2017 Posted by | politics/social, running, social/political, walking | | Leave a comment

Pre-packing entertainment: college football memories

Oh yeah, I am painfully aware of the fiasco in the Senate. I’ve had some things to say and I am getting way more responses on Twitter than I am used to.

My political account is here:

Now if I could remove just ONE politician from office (by edict) : well, it would be Trump since he is unstable and has the nuclear codes. But if he were a stable person (and just did stuff that I didn’t like politically), then I’d remove McConnell, as he has quite a bit of political skill.

Now for the post Since I am talking about disasters and dumpster fires and NOT talking about my own footraces, that means Illinois football.
I’ve had season tickets for 6 years (and I did see them a couple of times in person..one was a 51-3 loss to USC in the 1990s)

I also went to 4 years of Navy games (and caught a couple of road games) and 9 years of University of Texas games.

Now Navy and Texas were much more successful, overall, than Illinois. In the 6 years I’ve had season tickets, 7-6 and 6-7 were the BEST records.

So riddle me this: (aside from the singular 51-3 loss I talked about): who got beat the worst at home among Texas, Navy and Illinois? (for a true home game, not a “road home game”)

That’s right: TEXAS.

I am not counting the 46-3 loss in the Cotton Bowl to a strong Miami team.

The 1988 Texas team got annihilated 66-15 at home by Houston (quarterbacked by future Heisman trophy winner Andre Ware) and the 1989 team got smeared 50-7 by Baylor. And there was the 1976 team that got drummed 30-0 by Houston at home and 27-3 by Texas A&M.

Navy: while I did see Navy get stomped 33-0 by Notre Dame in 1980, that was in Giants stadium in New Jersey..same with the 35-0 pounding by Houston. But at home, the worst loss was 30-14 to Syracuse (who had future NFL greats Art Monk and Joe Morris).

But Illinos: in the 6 years that I watched them at home, well, they lost a lot of games but, as a rule, they never lost by 30 points or more at home the way that Texas did.

2011: 31-14 to Michigan (17 points). 2012: 52-24 to La. Teach (ok, it was up to 52-17 when La. Tech let up), 35-7 to Penn State , 2013: 56-32 to Wisconsin and 60-35 to Ohio State, 2014: 30-14 to Iowa, 2015: 28-3 to Ohio State. 2016: 40-17 to Minnesota (misleading), 34-10 to Western Michigan, 48-23 to North Carolina, 28-0 to Iowa (ok, 4 losses by 20+ points is a lot).

But nothing as bad as what I saw with Texas; no 30+ point losses at home. The biggest spread was 28 points.

Weird, huh?

July 26, 2017 Posted by | college football, football, politics, politics/social | , , | Leave a comment