blueollie

Chicago Rock and Roll Half (eve)

Aside from a construction related traffic jam on I-55 near the MLK exit, getting to the Expo was no big deal. It was large and, well, not particularly crowded; there wasn’t much that I wanted.

I put in a “seed time” of 2:35 for the half marathon (which I am planning to walk) and while it appears that we’ll have a good day for it, ok, it will be a bit humid, I might well be a few minutes slower than that. I am better rested though.

Still, it was somewhat humbling to realize that my anticipated time is over an hour slower than my masters PR (as a runner) and 18 minutes slower than my masters PR as a walker. And seeing all of those 30 to early 40-somethings and realize, well, the “midpack” is starting to advance away from me.

BUT, on the other hand, I can still play and I have the health and the financial means to participate (yeah, I splurged for a hotel near the start line; this is what I saved from not going to FANS 24 hour this year (much shorter drive too).

And I am looking forward to having some fun tomorrow. I want to try my newish walking shoes in a race (wore them for training walks) and do some “faster than anticipated marathon race pace” walking in a supported setting, and to see some of downtown Chicago!

Workout notes: easy 2 mile walk in the neighborhood.

View of downtown Chicago from a McCormick pedestrian catwalk.

Last two: Barbara trying out a massage device. 🙂

July 16, 2017 - Posted by | travel, walking | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

