blueollie

Yes, Trump will keep getting away with it…

Needless to say, Trump has acted in a very unpresidential manner; I’ve heard him described as a “mobster”. He has money and power, but no class.

But, I suppose, he speaks to the resentments of some people.

Now I have to admit, that I was very wrong. I felt that Paul Krugman was dead on in his column. And he might have been, at least for a plurality of the country.

And yes, I know, even I have gotten tired of “political correctness”, which I define to be “ignoring evidence that you find distasteful” (and yes, there are right wing versions also: think creationism, “abstinence only” sex education, supply side economics, and other kinds of affinity fraud)

Yes, I heard about “racism”, but I thought that was merely a slogan used by people who, say, didn’t want to discuss the merits and mechanisms of affirmative action, or, say, how a college “diversify the student body” program affects retention numbers, or a discussion of tough issues like crime, racial profiling and interactions with police.

I thought that cries about misogyny were overblown reactions to, say, a bad choice of clothing made by a scientist at an announcement, or people complaining about “mansplaining” (and yes, men, all too often, pop off about stuff they know little about, even when NOT invited to do so). I thought it was about double standards; e. g., it was ok to slam Chris Christie for being fat, but not Rosie O’Donnell.

But….where I was thinking that this was just social justice warriors trying to stifle genuine intellectual debate about tough subjects (see Steven Pinker’s book The Blank Slate) I am finding out that

1. Some people really don’t like black people, period. I am NOT talking about genuinely unpleasant black people (jerks and criminals, who come in all colors)..but black people, period.
2. Some people really don’t want women in positions of power, period, no matter how competent and qualified they are.

No, I am not saying “all” Trump supporters nor am I being overly political in this post. I am thinking more about the remarks I see from some on social media (and never from my friends, of any political persuasion).

But there has been some sort of “ok, let the toxic stuff inside of you out…Trump made it ok” sort of thing going on.

I do not claim to be devoid of toxic feelings, but I do try to keep them to myself or to discuss them in private, with trusted friends who will move me away from them.

Workout notes

Weights with some light yoga (headstand, legs up the wall) afterward

pull ups (5 sets of 10), goblet squats (45, 45, 55, 60, 65, 70) sets of 5, hip hikes, toe raises, bench press: 10 x 135, 5 x 190, 8 x 170, incline: 10 x 140. military (dumbbell) 15 x 55 seated, supported, 10 x 50 standing , 10 x 110 machine, rows: 2 sets of 10 x 55 dumbbell, 10 x 200 Hammer.

June 30, 2017 - Posted by | social/political, weight training

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

