blueollie

The cycle of athletic life

I am getting lapped by Jason (1:01:22)

This is probably my favorite photo from the Steamboat 15K this past weekend. Background: the course features an almost 2 mile out, then two 2.7 mile loops starting out at the bottom of Glen Oak park, going up the hill, some hairpin turns and then back down. During this stretch, some of the faster runners lap some of the slower runners.

The runner in red is Jason, a Religious Studies professor; I’ve swam with him before. He finished the course in 1:01:xx a bit over a 6:25 mpm pace. I walked the course in about 1:56, a hair under a 12:30 mpm pace. He was literally close to twice as fast as I was; when the photo was taken, I was just past 5K and he was not quite at 10K.

I was never as fast as he is; in my 20’s I ran a hilly 15K in 1:04, and in my late 30’s I ran a low 1:08 and a high 1:07 (the 1:08 was in conditions very similar to this past weekend). But yes, my 1998 and 1999 self would have lapped my 2017 self (walking).

But I can still beat the time limit, even as a walker. So, I’ll do this race as long as I can.

Workout notes: weights, 3 mile track run (32:45; last mile was 10:30), which was after weights:
rotator cuff, pull ups (4 sets of 10, 7-3), incline: 10 x 135, 4 x 160, 7 x 150 (good), military: 15 x 55 dumbbell seated, supported, standing: 10 x 45, 10 x 40, 2 sets of dumbbell rows (10 x 55), 10 x 110 machine.

Then the run, then a 2 mile walk (leisurely).

Note: platelet donation yesterday, so I backed off a bit.

June 21, 2017 - Posted by | running, walking, weight training | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

