blueollie

Partisanship, civility and threats

I’ve been very critical of stuff like this:

So now, we have…Ted Nugent denouncing such rhetoric?

Funny, that it took a Republican getting shot by a nut job for him to rethink. But that is how it goes, isn’t it?
Yes, they get all high and mighty talking about “Second Amendment remedies” (even Trump)

Yes, we saw the signs:

So now, a left wing Bernie supporting loon went out and shot a Republican Congressman (and a couple of law enforcement officers too). NOW, maybe they are “getting it”.

That thing that you threaten others with may well be used on you.

That is why I find such threats to be disgusting.

I rather like being able to walk around sans a bullet proof vest and, yes, unarmed. Unarmed this time, and the next time too. And the time after that. I can’t say that I’ll never own a gun. There was a time where I held a marksman ribbon (pistol) and I once went target shooting. It is sort of fun. And perhaps, oh, I might live in a rural area where there are possible wildlife threats.

But no, in my day to day life, and what I anticipate to be my day to day life, I want nothing to do with guns.

All I am saying is that if you threaten me, someone else might threaten you. And I have no desire to live that way.

So let’s keep politics a ballot box thing, ok? That is how civilized, first world countries do it.

Now our politics can certainly use improving. And please spare me this “both sides” bullshit; there is nothing on the Democratic side that is the analogue of Fox News, talk radio and the massive spin/lie/disinformation machine that operates on the right. And it is easy to see why: the Republican agenda, at the very top, is “tax cuts for the rich”. That, in and of itself, is a tough sell. So one needs a cover of some sort, be it right wing religion, resentment of minorities, or social issues (e. g. “war on Christmas”, “bathroom wars”, blah blah).

The current administration is reeling in a morass of paranoia and self pity. No, I am not foolish enough to think that they are finished. But, aside from some executive orders, they haven’t really done that much. My hope is that we can beat back this health care bill stuff and keep the works jammed with scandal until the 2018 midterms..and we have to pick up some seats! Hopefully we can win a chamber, or at least win enough seats to get the moderate Republicans to cut some deals.

Really, a type of coalition with “non-flat-earther” Republicans wouldn’t be so bad.

News of the weird: yes, women can rape men. It doesn’t happen that often. But here is a case in which the woman, who raped a cerebral palsy sufferer, is using “facilitated communication” as a defense. I don’t know how the trial will go; part of the case will be putting the hoax of “facilitated communication” on trial. But now matter how the case goes, the woman is a monster and I don’t want her in society.

Workout notes: lazy workout: rotator cuff, pull ups (5 sets of 10, good), bench press: 10 x 135, 4 x 190, 8 x 170 (lazy, empty gym), military: 15 x 55 (seated, supported), 10 x 45 standing, 10 x 40 standing, rows: 2 sets of 10 x 55, 1 set of 10 x 60 (one arm dumbbell), stretching, easy 2 mile walk outside.

June 16, 2017 - Posted by | politics, politics/social, social/political, walking, weight training | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

