blueollie

I lose round two: 10-9 also

I walked the Run Galesburg Run half marathon. It was warm; 72 F, 76 percent humidity at the start, 80-59 at the finish.

Time: 2:47:22, 12:47 mpm; roughly speaking I was 1:22:30/1:24:50 for my half splits.

12:03, 25:56 (2m), 12:42, 12:34, 12:29, 12:43 (1:28:01 at mile 7), 12:54 (1:40:56), 12:46, 14:23 (? huh?) 10:43 (2:18:49 at 11), 12:53 (2:31:43), 15:39 (bridge) for 2:47:22.
I kept telling myself that I would “pick it up”; never did (or could, really)

The effort was what I’d call moderate; I had something left but I was also tired. I might have maintained to 25-30 km, but not much further than that. Not in this weather.

The event: they changed the course from previous years; it now features more shady neighborhoods and just more shade, period. I like the changes. Traffic control was outstanding. Aid stations, volunteers: all first rate.
It was a small event (151 finishers; I was 136) but the course is open for 3:30 (16 mpm pace), so a reasonably fit, non-elderly person would walk it.

My event: my google maps came in handy; it routed me via underpasses; a friend who didn’t allow for “train time” got to the course late and started 2-3 minutes late.

We started and did 2 miles with the 5K people. There was one large male who was trying to run and trying so hard to stay with me; I wanted to tell him to “do your own race; I’ve done this before). The course soon emptied out and I had a couple behind me; one male who was LOUD..he’d yell “only x.1 miles to go” at every mile marker. He was running with a lady who was evidently an ex swimmer.

I was focused on trying to catch 3 people: one woman named Golda (bright blue spandex leggings) and two others; one of which ran the West Peoria 4 mile yesterday. I eventually caught and passed them; from my 7 mile split no one got me in the final 6.1 miles; I passed a few during that stretch. It WAS warm and sticky…

I think that the 10-11 mile splits were off; I did NOT slow to 14 minutes..though the final 1.1 might have been right; we did have an uphill overpass and the only runner in sight was a bit too far away to inspire me to really pick it up. This was one of those days where I told myself: “I’ll pick it up at mile 8..well, make it mile 9, ok, make it mile 10….and I just never did.

My goal was 2:40, so this was a loss, but one I can live with. I feel ok.

The purpose was to force me to walk some “faster” distances; I”d love to do one of these a month until marathon time. I do think that 12:30 isn’t going to happen for me; but maybe a cool day 13 would be a good goal?

Note: I read a Centurion’s report on how he pushed through troubles in the first 6 hours to make 100 miles..under 23 hours. Wow. He is older than I am too.

June 4, 2017 - Posted by | walking | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

