blueollie

First big test of the year coming up (sports)

This weekend: Saturday: 4 mile running race. I have no idea of what I can do. I really need to treat this as a 40 minute event and not go out too fast. Seriously, sub 37 would be good for me, though I know, deep down, I REALLY want 36..though I could not get that at my last 2 5K runs (where I started out too fast) and barely got that in the previous 3. BUT, I am better rested this time.

Sunday: half marathon powerwalk. There is a long time limit so finishing shouldn’t be a problem; I have a sub 2:40 goal, though really, seriously, 2:30 should be possible. We’ll see. A 7 am start time will help.

Today’s workout: no running, no walking. Weights went well:
rotator cuff
pull ups (5 sets of 10; last one was 7-3 (switch grip)
bench press: 10 x 135, 3 x 190, 5 x 185, 9 x 170 (didn’t push to the limit in any of these)
military (dumbbell): 10 x 55 seated, supported (best), 10 x 50, 10 x 40
rows: 2 sets of 10 x 55, 10 x 60
abs: 2 sets of 12 twist crunch, 10 yoga leg lifts, 3 sets of 10 yoga half bridges, headstand (shaky..took me 3 tries to get into it)

Last night: 3.5 miles of easy walking.

June 2, 2017 - Posted by | Friends, walking, weight training

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

