blueollie

Making choices in sports…River Run shuffle

I love the Chillicothe River Run and we had a perfect day for it. And the competition at the front of the pack was fierce.

But alas…where I enjoyed spending time with Tracy and socializing with some of “the usual” people, I just did not have it today.
My legs felt heavy upon warming up. Then at the start, I did not honor my current state; instead of staying behind some runners I knew would be finishing around my target time, I went ahead and chased an MILF who was rocking some black spandex and VPLS (grannies).

I didn’t feel *that* bad early on but, well, I missed the mile 1 clock; saw the mile 2 at 9:30 (mile 2 going the other way) which meant that I was at about 8:40 for mile 1. Sadly, that is too fast for me, right now.
By the time I got to mile 2 I was fading and had walked a bit (18:15) and then it was run, start to feel good, walk, repeat until I got to the finish in 28:56. My legs felt like cement poles.

What this tells me is that I need to take an easy week prior to the Steamboat 15K or the course is going to butcher me. The good news: last week’s long walk went very well. But I cannot do two things at once; if distance walking improves, short running suffers. That’s reality.

97/158 overall, 63/81 among the males. Sigh…

May 27, 2017 - Posted by | running |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

