blueollie

College baseball thoughts (and rain)

46 F and drizzly …which was an improvement from the weather earlier in the day. Forget the lovely day we had the day before; start was delayed by 75 minutes.

The stadium was pretty empty with a few in the upper parts, under the overhang. I had on my rain pants and bombproof rain coat and was reasonably comfortable. That is weird for May baseball.

Oh yes, I also had on a thermal shirt, sweat shirt, fleece lined jeans, and water resistant boots too.

Bradley won the teeth-chattering contest 7-2 via 2 runs in the first and 5 runs in the 6’th (at which they lead 7-0); Southern Illinois hurt themselves with 4 errors. The Bradley starting pitcher did very well, getting a shutout for the first 7 innings before loading the bases in the 8’th (no outs). The first reliever had a tough time of it, getting one out prior to walking in two runs. But the next reliever retired the side without further damage.

That is one thing about college baseball: a 7-0 lead in college ball isn’t as safe as a 7-0 lead in professional baseball, due to specialty pitchers, aluminum bats, and the fielding not being quite as sharp.

Why I like it: I’ve rediscovered my love of baseball; I did play up to 2 years of pony league. But I’ve reached a point in my life where I enjoy watching others do what I could not. I’ll give but one example: when I played first base, I remember going after a pop-up. I ran, and ran and ran and ran…seemingly forever..and got to it. I had reached…the grassy part of the infield after all that running.

On the other hand, several times, the Bradley firstbaseman has caught flies that were, say, about 1/3 of the way from the bag to the fence and made it look “relaxed and easy”.

And don’t even talk about hitting; I could hit (barely) some of the younger, mediocre high school pitchers but forget about the good ones. But these guys: no problem.

And, while I enjoy watching the games and seeing the students play, I can also see the difference between the “low A” Chiefs and college ball. There are a couple of levels (“short season”, “rookie leagues”) in between.

Good stuff..I am looking forward to today’s game, weather permitting.

Workout notes: after 3 miles with Barbara last night,

I decided NOT to run though I did some goblet squats, which ARE getting easier.

weights: rotator cuff, pull ups (which felt good) 5 sets of 10, bench press: 10 x 135, 5 x 185, 8 x 170, incline: 10 x 140, military: 20 x 50 dumbbell, seated, supported, 2 sets of 10 x 45, 3 sets of 10 x 200 Hammer Machine rows. Abs: 2 sets of 12 twist crunch, 2 sets of 10 yoga leg lifts, 3 sets of 10 moving bridge, headstand (very tough to get into yesterday…but got it)

Goblet squats: 5 x 25, 25, 45, 45, 50, 55, 65, 70

Bodyweight: 199.5 prior…after a ton of coffee, to be fair. I am going to have to drop 10 lbs. if I want do do well at a fall marathon.

May 20, 2017 - Posted by | baseball, walking, weight training |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

