blueollie

Lynnor Special training run and Bradley baseball…

I made this into a meme…saying “OMG, you can’t be serious” when I saw my time (1:41:57). It was, by 5 minutes, my slowest time “as a runner”. NOW, I am wondering: “can I even do that time”?

But a friend issued a challenge to stay up with her, and so I am training. Today, in weather conditions VERY similar to last year’s race (72 F 61 percent at the start, 76, 50 percent at the end) I slugged out a 1:49:08 training run on a hilly course, about 30 seconds faster than 2 weeks ago. 47:24, 31:26, 14:21, 15:55 (47:24, 47:22). I didn’t feel that bad at the start, but I was totally without speed, even trying to move on the downhills. I was relieved that I finished upright, but that was about it.

Then I caught a Bradley vs. Southern Illinois baseball game (11 am start, due to a Chiefs game tonight).

SIU won 8-3; they had a 3-0 lead when Bradley got 3 runs in the 3’rd, off of a home run (to start, hit, walk and triple). SIU had 2 home runs as well. SIU got 3 more runs in the 6’th and 2 more in the 8’th to put the game away. Bradley hurt themselves with 2 errors and a couple of baserunning errors (embarrassing pick off, trying to get an extra base that just wasn’t there). But SIU did get 12 hits (BU got 9).

May 18, 2017 - Posted by | baseball, running | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

