blueollie

Crisis of confidence: as you get older…

I am lucky that a Facebook friend gave me a playful taunt about the Steamboat 15K. She is a Bradley graduate and a stepdaughter of a retired colleague who will be back in town for the 15K.

Now I’ve never done well at this race. My times have ranged from a high 1:07 (1999, as a runner) to 1:41 last year, and 1:48 as a walker. I haven’t seen sub 1:10 since 1999, sub 1:20 since 2002 and my last sub 1:30 was 2014 (when I was much faster in the 5K). 1:35 would be a great goal for me.

But never mind that.

What got me to thinking about this post is all of the silly memes aimed at new runners..you know those that say “take “never” out of your vocabulary”, etc. Yeah, I get it: most new runners are capable of doing better than they think is possible.

But I am in a different place.

Yes, I’ve finished 60 events of a marathon or beyond. But what sticks in my mind more are the 7 DNFs, including one time I dropped from a 100 at mile 50 (with a time I’d love to do in a 50 miler) and got 20 more. (pacing others). I remember the literally hundreds of bad workouts I’ve had instead of the successful ones.

Even today: it was cool, (37 F) and dry (for now) and I decided to try my very hilly 8.1 mile “Cornstalk” course (10 good uphills in the middle 6 miles). My time was slow (1:36:01; 48:40/47:20) but I was more worried about being able to complete the workout than anything else. Yes, I’ve done slower. I’ve also done this in the low 1:20’s and faster over the past 2-3 years; it seems as if I’ve been awful since my October marathon. Part of it is 10 extra pounds, I think. Part of it was leg weights yesterday, and part of it was the long lay-off from training.

So, my confidence: I am having trouble distinguishing not having enough confidence and being realistic. After all, the last time I broke 1:30 for the Steamboat, I was running sub 25 minute 5Ks. Now, the equivalent time is 28 minutes; do the math.

And I’ve run half marathons (13.1 miles) faster than today’s 8.1 mile workout time. UGH.

May 3, 2017 Posted by | Friends, running | | Leave a comment

Conflicted about Trump and Clinton

Trump: yeah, he is incompetent, but is his incompetence stopping bad policy from happening? And what in the hell will happen if/when we have a crisis? Or, will Trump’s ego be leveraged into eventually, say, fixing our infrastructure and/or getting a universal health care plan?

Clinton: So many factors lead to her loss, including campaign missteps, her baggage, her lack of what I call “personal campaign talent” (she lacks the “show-biz” aspect that Obama and Bill Clinton has and she has no Teflon at all; she is like Al Gore in that everything, fair and unfair, sticks)

On the other hand: Russian collusion and the Comey letter, plus the weirdness of our Electoral College..and yes, Trump’s brilliant campaign (yes, it WAS that..as much as I ridiculed it).

Now if you say “what about misogyny”, I believe that you have to win elections with the electorate you have; you can’t change the hearts of those at the polls. If you think that misogyny is the overriding factor, are you prepared to nominate only male candidates? I am not.

Oh yeah, and our media sucked…then again, in a capitalist society, the “perception of fairness” is important to circulation, unless you are part of the political media.

Anyway, here is the full interview of Hillary Clinton. It takes 35 minutes. The best part of it is where she discusses the situation in North Korea and toward the end, when she explains that so many of the issues (say, jobs, health care, and internet access) are important and GO TOGETHER. But long term strategy is not sexy enough to be put on a bumper sticker.

Workout notes weights then a nice 10K walk (untimed) weights: rotator cuff, pull ups: (2 sets of 5-5-5, 2 sets of 10), (change grip on the 5-5-5), bench press: 10 x 135, 5 x 185, 8 x 170, military (dumbbell) 20 x 50 seated, supported, 2 sets of 10 x 45, rows: 3 x 110 machine, machine incline: 2 sets of 10: 140 and 150. Abs: 2 sets of 12 twist crunch, 10 yoga leg lifts, 10 moving bridges, headstand (surprisingly easy),
goblet squats: sets of 5: 25, 45, 45, 45, 45, 50, 60 65. These went well, as did the walk.

May 3, 2017 Posted by | politics/social, social/political, walking, weight training | 1 Comment