blueollie

Well, that was awful (personal and trivial)

A couple of things:
1. I am not fully recovering between workouts…the walking on off days might not be gentle enough to allow for recovery.
2. This is a busy, “stressful” (by academic standards) time of year; I have to take that into account.

So my attempt of 10 treadmill miles was a bust; I tried 5.2-5.5 going up every 5 minutes…it was strain going past 5.5 so I dropped down and tried the cycle again. I was walking at 3.8 miles..so with walking breaks I got to 5.25 miles in 1 hour, and 5.5 in 1:03:30. Then I walked to 6.0 (about 7:30-7:45 more) and I thought that I was finished.

But I went to the track, walked in lane 3 and made 4 miles (plus) in 56:01; 14:25/14:09/13:47/13:39 (all slightly longer than 1 mile); still, 10 miles is better than 0 miles. But what this means is that I am going to have to change Wednesday’s workout to a steady state 8-10 miler outside, when possible, if I am to be credible at the Steamboat 15K.

Oh well, time for dinner and perhaps a little bit of play after I pay bills. It seems as if I am getting bit by a bunch of gnats at the moment (metaphorically). Nothing serious but I have to be savvy.

April 30, 2017 - Posted by | running, walking |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

