blueollie

A (new to me) workout

I’ve gotten a bit behind in keeping up the workout logs. I also enjoyed the Bradley vs. Illinois baseball game (though BU lost 8-6, it was a very entertaining game featuring towering home runs, good fielding plays and yes, even good pitching (2 innings anyway; first inning saw 5 strike outs between the two pitchers).

3 of the home runs (2 by Illinois, 1 by Bradley) went further than the white fence in the distance; 1 was actually over it.

Workout notes Yesterday: it was pouring rain so I went on the home treadmill: 20:38 for 2 miles. then 4 x (2 minutes hard, 6 minute walk), 2 x (1 minute hard, 3 minute walk) which got me to 3.5 miles (past the original 2) so I walked for 10 minutes outside.

Those 2 minute repetitions just about killed me; I didn’t look at the pace, but these were “knee lift” runs at, say, “mile run” intensity. Those hurt; in the second minute I felt the heavy legs. Those 6 minute recovery walks felt shorter than they were.

Today: I slept in and worked out after my 9-10 class:

rotator cuff
pull ups (5 sets of 10)
incline press: 10 x 135, 5 x 150, 4 x 150 (very strict)
military: 20 x 50 seated, supported (dumbbells), 10 x 45, 10 x 45 standing
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 110 machine.

Then a 2 mile run: 2-2-2-2 warm up; then I went to 6.7 (at 8 minutes) to .75 miles and then every .25 I went up: 6.8, 6.9, 7.0, 7.1 then 7.2 for the final seconds.
10:37/19:17 were the mile splits. I finished with 2.08 miles; last 1.367 took 12 minutes (8:46 pace, 8:37 for mile 2)

Note: the back is still a bit sore.

April 27, 2017 - Posted by | baseball, running, walking, weight training |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

