blueollie

Male sexual harassment: counter intuitive for me

I asked a question on Facebook about a hypothetical case: if someone had, say, a syndicated show and told a potential guest “if you reject my advances, you won’t be a guest on my show”, is this against the law? I asked because while I think that this is vulgar and immoral, I don’t know enough about the law to judge if it is illegal. After all, no one has an inherent right to be booked on a show. This question was based on a public accusation made against Sean Hannity.

The discussion got a bit sidetracked and one of my friends mentioned male sexual harassment. And the article had this photo:

Now, I am not a female so I don’t know how females might react to a photo of a male doing this to a female; my guess is that the reaction would be very negative (anger, etc.)

Ok, MY reaction to the above photo? My initial gut reaction was….”damn..wish that was me..I’d be returning the favor…nice skirt butt!” But that is an initial reaction to a hypothetical situation and it is part fantasy..not a part of my day to day life. And I am a senior faculty member.

So while I “get” that sexually harassing a male is not acceptable either, my “gut” response to something like the photo isn’t what I’d imagine a female’s response to the reverse situation. The emotions are different.

As far as my professional life (as an adult), I now realize that I had witnessed sexual harassment but did not realize what it was at the time.

Example: I was friends with some of the enlisted clerks at a Navy recruiting station. One of them told me that when a more senior male walked past her, he “goosed” her. I was taken by surprise. Note: her boss (a warrant officer) had told her to leave ME alone as she sometimes hovered over me when i was at the computer. Sometimes she would go past me and make it a point to walk between me and the computer screen. I really didn’t mind; though I was a young officer, I still thought of her as a friend and it didn’t bother me at all. Then again, I outranked her.

Another time, I saw a young officer grab a young enlisted man by the butt..the way that frat boys sometimes do with each other. The enlisted man told him to stop; he said “you know that you love it”. He was clearly annoyed. But this officer continued to get great fitness reports (and he WAS very professionally competent).

I didn’t know what to do; I was never reacted quickly to anything that I am not trained for.

Workout notes: easy 5 mile run; glorious day for it.

April 25, 2017 - Posted by | running, social/political | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

