blueollie

Running: I’ve gone very soft

Yesterday afternoon, I felt that 5K race would help me out. I did this race before (albeit on a slightly different course) High 40’s, and we started against a headwind. I warmed up about 15 minutes and walked about a mile afterward; call it 5 total miles.

I frequently joke that I’d love to have a pretty spandex woman running ahead of me at goal pace, and today I HAD THAT. And still, all I could do is waddle. Even the last guy to pass me in the final mile ran a time I was looking for. But I didn’t go with him.

Sigh..my watch time was 28:08 9:15, 9:13, 9:39 for the final 1.1 (tailwind on the way back). It is almost as if I have some mental block against making myself hurt. What can I say?

I did walk it off and then come home and then went to Markin to lift:

rotator cuff
pull ups (5 sets of 10: ok)
incline press: 10 x 135, 5 x 150, 4 x 150 (strict hips)
military presses: dumbbell: 20 x 50 seated, supported, 10 x 45, 10 x 45 standing
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 110
abs: 3 sets of 12 twist crunch, 2 sets of 10 yoga leg lifts, 2 sets of 10 moving bridge
goblet squats: sets of 5: 25, 45, 45, 55, 55, 60, 65 decent depth..these went well)

Ironically, the weights went much better than they did in 2015, but the running went worse. Maybe I am heavier? Who knows.

April 23, 2017 - Posted by | running, weight training | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

