blueollie

Finding the happy medium

Today: my 4.15 mile walk in 56:45, which had a 13:58 first mile (plus) then a 13:16 finish; 29:30 middle part. pace: 13:42 or thereabouts.

I skipped leg weights as I might do a spandex chase tomorrow..in fact, I am planning on it.

It is too soon to say how my training is progressing. I notice that my walks have gotten better and I am feeling it more in my butt; I wonder if that is a consequence of my goblet squats? Time will tell.

I’ll say something else: I may have gone overboard in “taking it easy”. Either I ran/walked sans the watch, or I did a race/speed workout.

I am finding that I need to do a few “in between intensity” workouts too: workouts that involve running or walking at a “deliberate but not hard” effort. There is a place for a leisurely stroll/jog but I can fall into the trap of only “leisurely ” or “race pace”. I need to do some medium effort stuff, like today.

April 21, 2017 Posted by | walking | | Leave a comment

Dropping the ball for baseball…

I’ve disconnected a bit due to..well, baseball games. Tuesday night I saw the Chiefs lose to the Cedar Rapids Kernels 5-0.

The highlights were a couple of great outfield catches; one was just off of the ground and the other was over the shoulder.

Then last night I watched Bradley rally from 4-1 down in the 7’th inning to win 6-4, getting 2 in the bottom of the 7’th and 3 more in the bottom of the 8’th. The 8’th inning was really the key. The first batter singled and the coach put in a fast pinch runner. The next batter made an excellent bunt…but Iowa made a bad throw to first which lead to the fast runner rounding the bases to score and the batter to make it to 3’rd. Then the runner at third was singled in, and another double gave Bradley the padding it needed.

A crowd of 571 enjoyed the game.

I also came to notice that Bradley uses the third base dugout as the home dugout whereas the Chiefs use the first base dugout. It has to do where the respective clubhouses are.

I’ll really OD on Bradley baseball, as there are 5 home games from Friday to Wednesday. I should make 4 of these (Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday).

Workout notes: PM: walk with the group; 3 miles. We lollygagged on the way out (27 minutes or so) and then on the way back, Tammy wanted to turn it up a bit; that only took 24 minutes for us.

AM: I slept in (Bradley games are usually about 3 hours; more scoring than in pro ball) So I worked out after my 9-10 class. I’ve got some catching up to do.

Weights: rotator cuff, pull ups (5 sets of 10: good), bench press: 10 x 135, 4 x 185, 9 x 170 (empty gym, basically), 10 x 135 incline, dumbbell military: 20 x 50 seated, supported, 10 x 45, 10 x 45, 3 sets of 10 x 110 machine rows. Then run: 20 minutes on the treadmill: 2-2-2-2-2 (5.2-5.6) then 2-2-2-2-1-1 (6.7-7.2) 10:57/8:40, 2.04 miles total.

Bodyweight: 195.7 before, 193.8 after.

April 21, 2017 Posted by | baseball, running, walking, weight training | , | Leave a comment