blueollie

Opening training for the Steamboat 15K: I’ve gotten soft.

I slept in a bit and didn’t start my run until 9 am. That was ok; the Steamboat 15K is almost always run in heat and humidity so I need to get used to it. It was 69 F at the start; 75 F at the end but the humidity went from 68 to 55; in other words, not that much.

I chose a “Steamboat simulation” course: behind the Riverplex ..NO goose loop, NO ball field wall. I did pass an interesting looking accident; there was a wrecked automobile across the railroad tracks near the ball field. That altered my route just a little bit. Then up Abdington to the path along Perry into lower Sprindale. I went the normal route, turned left at the bridge and hugged the right turn path up the hill to Prospect then went down the other direction. Once down, I went to the entrance, back on the regular path and past the bottom of Soldier hill, turning around and doubling back at the sidewalk; the map says that this was 3.95 miles or so. It was 48 minutes when I started the double back.

Once I got to the Rivertrail again I noticed a 5K race in progress. I sped up (return leg was 45 minutes, or 3 minutes faster, most of it on this stretch) and I went back and forth with one of the 5K runners (a younger male). I had spied a MILF rocking a pair of granny panty lines but she got away. Then I walked enough of a cool down to get to 8 miles total.

Then to the weight room. On one hand, my weight workout was low energy. But on the other hand, all that sweating made me lighter; my 5 sets of 10 pull ups went very, very well.

pull ups, rotator cuff
bench press (sucked) 10 x 135, 2 x 185, 5 x 170, incline press: 10 x 135
military presses (dumbbells) sucked: 5 x 50, 10 x 45, 10 x 40
rows: machine: 10 x 90, 140, 140.
There is usually some “hot babe” doing squats and this time was no exception; very tight “Los Angeles Laker purple” spandex leggings.
Then came a diet Dr. Pepper; lady …more eyestrain.

Oh, the workout summary: very low energy in the weight room; the 5K race runners sped me up a bit. Perhaps I was doing low to mid 9’s on the way back?
But the “bottom” line…LOL…is that I’ve gotten very, very soft. My run started off badly; I even thought about modifying it but told myself “STFU you big baby..quit being such a whiner”.

Then came pre Easter dinner with the family. Good stuff.

Thursday: I participate in a walking group; we are now up to 2.25-3 miles

April 15, 2017 - Posted by | family, Friends, running, walking, weight training

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

