blueollie

Opening training for the Steamboat 15K: I’ve gotten soft.

I slept in a bit and didn’t start my run until 9 am. That was ok; the Steamboat 15K is almost always run in heat and humidity so I need to get used to it. It was 69 F at the start; 75 F at the end but the humidity went from 68 to 55; in other words, not that much.

I chose a “Steamboat simulation” course: behind the Riverplex ..NO goose loop, NO ball field wall. I did pass an interesting looking accident; there was a wrecked automobile across the railroad tracks near the ball field. That altered my route just a little bit. Then up Abdington to the path along Perry into lower Sprindale. I went the normal route, turned left at the bridge and hugged the right turn path up the hill to Prospect then went down the other direction. Once down, I went to the entrance, back on the regular path and past the bottom of Soldier hill, turning around and doubling back at the sidewalk; the map says that this was 3.95 miles or so. It was 48 minutes when I started the double back.

Once I got to the Rivertrail again I noticed a 5K race in progress. I sped up (return leg was 45 minutes, or 3 minutes faster, most of it on this stretch) and I went back and forth with one of the 5K runners (a younger male). I had spied a MILF rocking a pair of granny panty lines but she got away. Then I walked enough of a cool down to get to 8 miles total.

Then to the weight room. On one hand, my weight workout was low energy. But on the other hand, all that sweating made me lighter; my 5 sets of 10 pull ups went very, very well.

pull ups, rotator cuff
bench press (sucked) 10 x 135, 2 x 185, 5 x 170, incline press: 10 x 135
military presses (dumbbells) sucked: 5 x 50, 10 x 45, 10 x 40
rows: machine: 10 x 90, 140, 140.
There is usually some “hot babe” doing squats and this time was no exception; very tight “Los Angeles Laker purple” spandex leggings.
Then came a diet Dr. Pepper; lady …more eyestrain.

Oh, the workout summary: very low energy in the weight room; the 5K race runners sped me up a bit. Perhaps I was doing low to mid 9’s on the way back?
But the “bottom” line…LOL…is that I’ve gotten very, very soft. My run started off badly; I even thought about modifying it but told myself “STFU you big baby..quit being such a whiner”.

Then came pre Easter dinner with the family. Good stuff.

Thursday: I participate in a walking group; we are now up to 2.25-3 miles

April 15, 2017 Posted by | family, Friends, running, walking, weight training | Leave a comment

A bit of everything in this game: Bradley 6, Wichita State 5

I got to the game at the top of the second when it was 1-0 WSU; I had a meeting and dinner with my wife first. But rain delay pushed by the start of the game (and kept attendance down a bit)

And this game featured a bit of everything. Through 5 innings we had seen (between both teams): 5 errors, 8 runs and 13 hits. Through the top of the 9’th, we stayed at 5 errors, 11 runs, 21 hits, one manager being ejected (for arguing a “step out of the batter’s box strike call”), one apparent home run in which the hitter was called out as he passed the runner on base between first and second:

The Braves added an insurance run in the seventh when an apparent Ivelia two-run homer turned into a single and just one run scored when Ivelia passed Ian Kristan on the base paths and was called out.

And then came the 9’th: Bradley was up 6-4 and had two outs, when Wichita State hit two doubles in a row to pull to within 6-5, but a line drive was caught in center field to end the game. Whew…

One of the mothers of the player cheered …very …enthusiastically and yelled BOOM at just about anything Wichita State did (strike, routine ground ball fielded, etc.) Toward the end, some Bradley fans started to yell BOOM when BU did something..that made me giggle.

Workout notes: 4.2 Conrstalk classic walk in 56:44; 13:30 final mile. Not fast but not the usual slow stroll. I paid more attention this time.

April 15, 2017 Posted by | baseball, walking | | Leave a comment