blueollie

Dreaming on the treadmill

Today’s workout was a routine 5.1 miles in 1 hour on the treadmill (slow run); this past weekend’s workouts left me a bit sore and stiff. But once I kicked myself into doing the first 10 minutes, I was fine. We had lightning outside so I stayed indoors.

While on the treadmill I daydreamed of hypothetical races to come…many of which I won’t actually attempt.

Funny..I remember the elation of success but rarely the pain of performance and the disappointment of failure. In my daydreams, I push through the pain of the final mile of a 5K, do not get sick during an ultra, do not blister up or get sick in the final 10K of a marathon, etc.

Reality: much different. Much different.

So about making those dreams a reality: that is part of the frustration of aging.

1. What worked 20 years ago…hell, even 5 years ago, doesn’t work anymore. My mix of workouts needs to be different and I need more recovery between hard efforts and races.
2. My capacity has diminished …but to what extent and due to what factors? I know that the extra 10 pounds I am carrying hurts me, but I know that losing 10 pounds won’t get me to a 22 minute 5K of a 3:50 marathon. What is realistic for me? Is walking sub 5:20 for a marathon realistic, at all?
3. I have to choose, now more than ever. Of course, a better bench press means slower running times, but even with that, a focus on an ultra means a slower 5K run, etc.
4. Attitude: I have less patience with the pain of intensity than I once did. I was never mentally tough, but I am even weaker now.
5. Physical reality: I can’t make a potentially muddy trail ultra a goal race any longer; I have to choose events that suit my current limitations.

But part of the fun is finding a winning formula and executing that plan.

April 10, 2017 Posted by | running, walking | | Leave a comment