blueollie

Longish walks, regret, and baseball…

Today’s walk: left the house at 7:15, walked down Cooper, Moss, Union, MLK, Kumpf, Rivertrail around the goose loop (20-30 meters are submerged), ball field fence loop (around the wall..mostly to visit the port-o-potty) then the bike path through the Cemetery to the northern gate. Touch the gate, double back.

VERY consistent: 1:41:43 out, 1:41:17 back for 13.8 miles at a 14:43 pace. That may not seem like much..ok, it is a slower pace than I averaged for a 100 mile walk in 2004…(OMG, I’ve slipped that much!) but it is the best “day after a 5K sort-of-long walk” I’ve done in a while. And, this was nowhere near a hard effort, though it was a deliberate, “pay attention to your walking” pace. If I can work up to adding 7-8 more miles at this pace with this effort, I should be ready for an “under the 6 hour time limit” walking marathon. And hey, I have 5 more months to go.

yes, the days of my just doing a marathon (or 50K) on a whim are long, long over.

Regret: I followed the progress of some of my friends doing a trail 30 mile (48 km)..McNaughton. Yes, I’ve finished several ultras on that course; the fall 30 4 different times, the spring 50K once, the 50 mile twice, the 100 mile twice. So, it isn’t as if I haven’t finished the race, but the reality is that after my 2010 knee surgery, I’ve had 3 very slow 30 mile finishes and two DNFs (once on a 30, once on a 50 ). Mud on the course just kills my knees, so signing up in advance doesn’t work. And now-a-days, going in on a whim doesn’t work either.

So, I miss it, though there is no reason I can’t be a fair weather hiker or perhaps be a last minute sign up for a 30 IF I had a recent marathon under my belt …recent enough to have some conditioning under my belt but not so recent as to come in tired, as I did the last time (11 hours for the 30! that was humiliating)

Baseball
So I saw the Bradley baseball game; good day for it. Bradley took a nice 2-1 lead off of two solo home runs. Milwaukee tied it and then came the 6-7-8’th innings where Milwaukee got most of their 14 hits and 3, 3 and 5 runs respectively. BU got 2 of them back in the 7’th…but the final was 13-4.

Small consolation but BU “won” the home run derby 3-2 though they did hit a spectacular 400+ foot shot to center.

One of the Bradley home runs made it to the dark SUV in this photo

Though I’d rather BU had won, it was a great day for a ball game. My wife is the redhead in the front row. There were 308 at this game. I attend many Chiefs games (one this afternoon) but I’ll get my baseball fix at Bradley games until their home season ends.

April 9, 2017 Posted by | baseball, marathons, walking | , | Leave a comment