blueollie

CIAND 5K

Well, as you can see, my running performance has tanked; it seems as if I had a “rebirth” in late 2011 but that period is ending. OR…perhaps I am too heavy to run well right now?

Today: 27:46. Breezy, but in the 40’s…good running weather. 14 of 46 (no walkers), 11/23 males, 1/2 AG.

I warmed up about 1.5 miles or so and didn’t feel that bad. And I took it out and noted that Jerry got away from me; he finished right about 26 minutes…but looked a long way away from me. That is where I was last year.
We went around the rectangle (parking lot) and then onto the out and back along Perry. The field was small and spread out and the cutie I was tracking slowed ..from then on it was mostly solo though there was a guy in a yellow shirt that I just could not close on. I kept telling myself to “pick it up” but I really didn’t want to. Still, I was heaving when I got done, so it wasn’t as if I showed up and jogged. I simply am not running enough; none of those 8 milers and 10-12 milers I was doing last year. THAT plus the heavy body weight (10 pounds up) makes a difference.

But it was nice to connect with others including Bill and Mike (now in his 70’s)

Well, I certainly do not look fat..but I still have a “double support phase” to my running gait. I can’t seem to “lift” anymore.

Previous years:

2016 (25:59)
https://blueollie.wordpress.com/2015/03/28/cidaciand-5k-relearning-old-lessons/ (25:50)
2014 25:08 (new course)
2012 (old course) https://blueollie.wordpress.com/2012/03/31/cida-5k-run-and-other-inspirations/ 25:09 (rivertrail)

Later: I went and lifted…low energy:
rotator cuff
pull ups: 5 sets of 10 (not easy, but got them all)
bench press: 10 x 135, 5 x 185, 4 x 185
incline press: 10 x 135
military press (dumbbell standing) 7 x 50, 10 x 45, 10 x 45
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 200 Hammer machine

Took about 45 minutes to do…very low energy today.

April 8, 2017 - Posted by | running, Uncategorized, weight training | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

