blueollie

My Syria post

Ok, President Trump launched some cruise missiles at an airstrip from which the chemical weapons attack originated. Because the Russians were there, they were given advance notice. And, evidently, the airstrip/base remained operational:

And yes, the rubes cheered…hey, he did SOMETHING.

Oh, the options were not all that good.

And ISIS took advantage. Let’s face it: things are complicated. One has the so-called government which Russia, along with Shiite groups backs. The Rebels are mostly Sunni (backed by Sunni groups) and ISIS has a foothold as well. It is complicated.

In the US: the support really isn’t strictly along party lines; the Freedom Caucus is upset but the old guard seems ok. Given what the strike accomplished (basically…nothing…) and deterred (basically nothing…) well..

And how legal was it? Here are what some top legal minds say. And the politicians are split (here and here): we have the War Powers Act of 1973 (which specifies that the President is authorized to start limited military action IF several conditions are met and it is in our national interest (e. g. retaliate for a state sponsor murder, protect US citizens, etc) and there is the authorization of use of military force (used for the Iraq invasion) to generally fight terror.

But..it appears to me that the real criteria is for the President to say “it is in our national interest” and for Congress to not object and for it to be over quickly.

Who in the hell knows. I’d like to think that Trump was not that unethical, but his repeated, foolish tweets give me reason to doubt his personal stability. I wish that I had more confidence in him.
Yes, I can see other Presidents doing something *similar* (execution? targets? effectiveness?). So my questions are more about the President that ordered it than anything else; he just has no “benefit of the doubt” from me..the way that other presidents (of either party) had.

April 8, 2017 Posted by | political/social, politics, Uncategorized, world events | , | Leave a comment

Bradley Baseball Fun: 8’th inning explosion to defeat Milwaukee 11-5

We had a great day for it; sun and warmth…a bit of wind. Even better: a student I’ve had in class was pitching.
So what went down: Milwaukee opened with some ground ball hits and took a 1-0 lead. The lead grew to 2-0 in the 5’th though both pitchers were doing well. But in inning 5, Bradley got a walk, and the shortstop hit his first (of 2 total) home run to left field to tie the game.

Then came the 7’th when the Bradley pitcher, who was starting to tire, got 2 outs. But a botched play at first on a ground ball) kept Milwaukee alive, and then they cashed in ..eventually driving in a go ahead run. A reliever came in.

But in the bottom of the 7’th, Bradley got a lead off home run to tie the game at 3 (on the at bat where I took the photo).

Then Bradley held Milwaukee scoreless in the top of the 8’th, and then came an 8 run explosion in the bottom; this rally featured 3 home runs. It went from 3-3 to 11-3 very quickly.
Milwaukee rallied for 2 in the top of the 9’th (loaded the bases and got a hit) but BU finished the job.

All in all, this game had a bit of everything; pitcher’s duel at first, then a ton of hitting.

Barbara went with me.

I kind of relaxed so Barbara did a “womanspread” to compete with my “manspreading”.

I wanted a shot of the field; this came just before the home run which tied the game at 3.

April 8, 2017 Posted by | baseball | | Leave a comment

CIAND 5K

Well, as you can see, my running performance has tanked; it seems as if I had a “rebirth” in late 2011 but that period is ending. OR…perhaps I am too heavy to run well right now?

Today: 27:46. Breezy, but in the 40’s…good running weather. 14 of 46 (no walkers), 11/23 males, 1/2 AG.

I warmed up about 1.5 miles or so and didn’t feel that bad. And I took it out and noted that Jerry got away from me; he finished right about 26 minutes…but looked a long way away from me. That is where I was last year.
We went around the rectangle (parking lot) and then onto the out and back along Perry. The field was small and spread out and the cutie I was tracking slowed ..from then on it was mostly solo though there was a guy in a yellow shirt that I just could not close on. I kept telling myself to “pick it up” but I really didn’t want to. Still, I was heaving when I got done, so it wasn’t as if I showed up and jogged. I simply am not running enough; none of those 8 milers and 10-12 milers I was doing last year. THAT plus the heavy body weight (10 pounds up) makes a difference.

But it was nice to connect with others including Bill and Mike (now in his 70’s)

Well, I certainly do not look fat..but I still have a “double support phase” to my running gait. I can’t seem to “lift” anymore.

Previous years:

2016 (25:59)
https://blueollie.wordpress.com/2015/03/28/cidaciand-5k-relearning-old-lessons/ (25:50)
2014 25:08 (new course)
2012 (old course) https://blueollie.wordpress.com/2012/03/31/cida-5k-run-and-other-inspirations/ 25:09 (rivertrail)

Later: I went and lifted…low energy:
rotator cuff
pull ups: 5 sets of 10 (not easy, but got them all)
bench press: 10 x 135, 5 x 185, 4 x 185
incline press: 10 x 135
military press (dumbbell standing) 7 x 50, 10 x 45, 10 x 45
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 200 Hammer machine

Took about 45 minutes to do…very low energy today.

April 8, 2017 Posted by | running, Uncategorized, weight training | , | Leave a comment