blueollie

Salvaging it (still under the weather slightly)

I’ve got this malaise that I can’t quite shake; I’ve had it for about 2 weeks, now going on the third. I am not quite sick but I am a little warm, a little weak, and a little tired, with eyes burning (slightly), nose running, digestion not quite right but not terrible.

So I am just a “bit off” but not terrible.

Today: on the treadmill, I just was horrible on the warm up part; after a minute or two of 5.2 mph jogging, I walked! So I did “walk/jog” for the first 10 minutes, slow jog for the next 10 and decided to try to do my 2:30 repetitions at 6.7. I modified it to 2:40 (10 seconds longer in the work interval) and allowed myself to walk 20 seconds to 1 minute of the recovery (mostly 20 seconds) and then jog at 5.0-5.1 mph.

And I finished with 8 repetitions; hit mile 5.92 in 1:05; jogged to 10K in 1:07:30. (mile 6 in 1:06). So it was better than nothing..and I didn’t have to bail on the workout like I had feared.

April 5, 2017 Posted by | illness, running | Leave a comment