blueollie

Unintended benefit

A few months ago, I set out strengthen my legs. My “run” had become a “shuffle walk” (more so than normal) and stairs were getting harder; I figured that my legs were weak. And my butt: (TMI): gluteals were mostly small, useless sacks of jello that jiggled and did little else.

And yes, I’ve noticed a difference. I am still as slow as hell but…my….back feels better. Seriously: this leg work has made my back ache a whole lot less! Go figure; that wasn’t the intention but it is motivation for me to stick with it.

Yesterday: 5 mile shuffle (2 lower loops of Bradley park).
Today: 4 mile walk (15:30 average overall; 14:30 or so on the flat parts..Cornstalk classic from Markin after weights.

Weights: rotator cuff, pull ups (5 sets of 10; first 4 sets were really good; last was a struggle)
bench press: 10 x 135, 5 x 185, 4 x 185, 10 x 170 (strict)
standing dumbbell military: 10 x 50, 10 x 45, 10 x 45
Hammer machine rows: 3 sets of 10 x 200
Hammer machine incline: 8 x 160, 2 sets of 10 x 140 (did I slack here?)
abs: 2 sets of 10 yoga leg lifts, 10 moving bridges, 12 twist crunch
headstand (not quite as steady as I’d like)
legs: goblet squats; 1 warm up set, then 5 x 45, 45, 50, 55, 60, 65 (last set: pushed me; I felt it)
leg presses: 10 x 250 (too shallow), 10 x 210.

At times I was very internally whiny. Part of it is that I still have a “sort of” cold. Part of it is that I am a whiner by nature. I kept telling myself “GET GOING YOU BIG BABY.”

April 4, 2017 - Posted by | illness, injury, walking, weight training

1 Comment »

  1. I think I need someone running ahead of me with ice cream, while someone follows behind me yelling “Keep going, you big baby.”

    BTW, last night’s FRC class about killed me. I moved from one riser on the step to two, and I was dripping with sweat.

    Comment by Jennifer | April 4, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

