blueollie

Why your CEO approves of Trump

Yes, Trump’s approval ratings are in the high 30’s to mid 40’s; Gallup at 38.

It has dropped some.

But if you talk to many CEOs: well, Trump is doing great! Why? In their world, government regulations and overreach is keeping them from being as profitable as they think that they could be. So, fewer regulations, fewer worries about pollution controls (who cares about a bunch of stupid frogs and snails?)…and lower that tax rate!

Oh, you have things like this: Caterpillar might be in serious trouble for violating tax laws AND economic sanctions. But you see, Caterpillar has a fiduciary responsibility to its shareholders and if that means setting up some shady shell corporation in Switzerland to avoid those high US taxes, so be it. And if that corporation does business with a country that we have economic sanctions against, well….it is not against the letter of the law, unless…some of those US labeled parts gets mixed in with that Swiss batch…ooops! If we just got the government off of the backs of US corporations!!!

So Trump is doing great! Oh those safety net programs? Well, think of those that you actually know (not read about); those who grew up with you. Many of those who ended up on those safety net programs…really did make a bunch of dreadfully bad life decisions. So what are you going to do…continue to enable them?

Anyhow, they are just fine with Trump; they much prefer him to Obama. Oh…yeah, Trump might not know what he is doing and he might well tank the economy, start a war, etc. But that is long term; the in thing is to think short term.

This is what really matters at the moment:

April 4, 2017 Posted by | republicans, social/political | | Leave a comment

Unintended benefit

A few months ago, I set out strengthen my legs. My “run” had become a “shuffle walk” (more so than normal) and stairs were getting harder; I figured that my legs were weak. And my butt: (TMI): gluteals were mostly small, useless sacks of jello that jiggled and did little else.

And yes, I’ve noticed a difference. I am still as slow as hell but…my….back feels better. Seriously: this leg work has made my back ache a whole lot less! Go figure; that wasn’t the intention but it is motivation for me to stick with it.

Yesterday: 5 mile shuffle (2 lower loops of Bradley park).
Today: 4 mile walk (15:30 average overall; 14:30 or so on the flat parts..Cornstalk classic from Markin after weights.

Weights: rotator cuff, pull ups (5 sets of 10; first 4 sets were really good; last was a struggle)
bench press: 10 x 135, 5 x 185, 4 x 185, 10 x 170 (strict)
standing dumbbell military: 10 x 50, 10 x 45, 10 x 45
Hammer machine rows: 3 sets of 10 x 200
Hammer machine incline: 8 x 160, 2 sets of 10 x 140 (did I slack here?)
abs: 2 sets of 10 yoga leg lifts, 10 moving bridges, 12 twist crunch
headstand (not quite as steady as I’d like)
legs: goblet squats; 1 warm up set, then 5 x 45, 45, 50, 55, 60, 65 (last set: pushed me; I felt it)
leg presses: 10 x 250 (too shallow), 10 x 210.

At times I was very internally whiny. Part of it is that I still have a “sort of” cold. Part of it is that I am a whiner by nature. I kept telling myself “GET GOING YOU BIG BABY.”

April 4, 2017 Posted by | illness, injury, walking, weight training | 1 Comment