blueollie

Interplanetary 5K and Bradley Baseball

Ok, given that the Bradley 5K course was just a tad bit long (3.16-3.2 miles) and I did it in 28:03, my 27:18 time for the Interplanetary 5K was right on.

I had felt a bit heavy legged the day before but felt fine on race morning, where it was in the low 50’s and drizzly….while I warmed up.

In a nutshell I may have taken it a bit too hard at the start (8:38) and while my second mile was fine (8:47), I slowed (9:51 for the final 1.1) even though I had a light tailwind.

I had a hard time gauging early pace. At first I followed the lady in orange and black:

But she started to open a lead on me about half way and then blew me away at the end (see the red arrow)

I was about 90 seconds slower than last year, but a bit faster than I was last Thanksgiving. Too heavy? Well, I was also running more last year (2-2:30 training runs for strength plus 8 milers midweek) and I think that I need to do more of the 1:30 duration runs.

Still, socially, it was good to see old friends including the lovely Mamma T and her new-ish friend.

Later, it was time for some Bradley Baseball, where the Braves overpowered NAIA Robert Morris-Springfield 15-0 in 7 innings.

It drizzled for part of the game, which drove most of the fans to the concourse for part of the game. We moved back to the top row under the overhang.

If the weather cooperates, I’ll try to catch the Eureka game tomorrow afternoon.

March 26, 2017 - Posted by | baseball, running | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

