blueollie

A beautiful day for humility…

Don’t get me wrong: I enjoyed today’s workout. But there was humility at every stage.

At the Riverplex: when I got there, there was a younger guy (early 30’s?) doing reps with 225 on the bench. He was working out with a bespandexed lady (wife? girlfriend?) whose butt was winning its war with the spandex.

Yeah, I did that when I was younger…actually much more but never mind. That isn’t now.

Then someone …middle aged?..a serious lifter entered. I think his arms were about the size of my lower thighs. I laughed and thought “I had better get out of here before he uses all of the 45 pound plates.”

Someone that Mamma T calls “shirtless Bob” was there; we talked and I noticed that he was running on the treadmill…I peeked at the pace…9 miles an hour (6:40 mpm). Yeah, he is a year or two older than I am.

We chatted; he ran a 5:44 mile last year. I last ran that fast..when I was 38. F*ck me dead!

So I went outside and then ran the 2.2 miles to the start of the Glenn Oak hill (same one that is on the first part of the Steamboat 15K course) and did 4 hill repeats (about .25 miles each, .25 miles back), and then ran the 2.2 miles back (roughly 10K to 6.4 miles total). Those just killed me; I tried to run them at a pace to get me way out of breath at the end and to make me heavy legged.

(logs at the bottom to the gate at the top).

I enjoyed it but…OMG…was I reminded at how badly I suck. 🙂

Weights: rotator cuff, pull ups (5 sets of 10…went well), bench press: 10 x 135, 5 x 185, 7 x 170
dumbbell military: 10 x 50 standing, 2 sets of 10 x 45 standing
Hammer Machine incline: 3 sets; 10 x 180, 8 x 200, 8 x 180. rows: 3 sets of 10 x 110 machine.
abs: 2 sets of 12 twist crunch, 10 yoga leg lifts. headstand: went really well with the wall for confidence (didn’t use it at all though)

March 19, 2017 - Posted by | running, weight training

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

