blueollie

And I lose my civility…and why it is hard for me to be civil to them.

I had a terse exchange on Facebook; evidently …somehow, I became FB friends with one of “them”.

The person tried to engage in a conversation, and no, he didn’t call me names, didn’t call us “snowflakes” or “libtards” and even admitted that President Obama did some things correctly.

He wasn’t the best informed (didn’t know that the jobs added were private sector jobs…(albeit lower paying that those that were previously lost at the end of the Bush administration)). But he attempted to admonish me to “give Trump a chance” when, in fact, it is Trump’s behavior (tweets, incivility toward political opponents, failure to get facts straight, outright lies that go well beyond political spin) that gives me such contempt for him.

I do not take kindly to being “told what to do” by people who aren’t close friends (at least). And so I was uncivil: “if you don’t like it, stay off of my wall”.

And there, I think, lies much of our political divide.

I have Republican friends that I discuss things with, but we tend to be from the “same tribe”: for us, there is a big difference between saying “you should” vs. “I see it this way…”. We have a set way of communicating. And we have a similar set of facts and a similar way to fact checking. I can say: “it is scientific consensus that…” and point to say, something in the Field Museum. Or they could do the same. We give similar answers to “Why should I believe that…”

And I have little to no patience with people who, say, see a Limbaugh or Breitbart article on the same level, or higher level, than Scientific American.

And I bristle when someone who doesn’t know that they are talking about attempts to “splain” it all to me…especially when they are unaware that they don’t know what they are talking about.

March 7, 2017 - Posted by | politics, politics/social, social/political

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

