blueollie

And I lose my civility…and why it is hard for me to be civil to them.

I had a terse exchange on Facebook; evidently …somehow, I became FB friends with one of “them”.

The person tried to engage in a conversation, and no, he didn’t call me names, didn’t call us “snowflakes” or “libtards” and even admitted that President Obama did some things correctly.

He wasn’t the best informed (didn’t know that the jobs added were private sector jobs…(albeit lower paying that those that were previously lost at the end of the Bush administration)). But he attempted to admonish me to “give Trump a chance” when, in fact, it is Trump’s behavior (tweets, incivility toward political opponents, failure to get facts straight, outright lies that go well beyond political spin) that gives me such contempt for him.

I do not take kindly to being “told what to do” by people who aren’t close friends (at least). And so I was uncivil: “if you don’t like it, stay off of my wall”.

And there, I think, lies much of our political divide.

I have Republican friends that I discuss things with, but we tend to be from the “same tribe”: for us, there is a big difference between saying “you should” vs. “I see it this way…”. We have a set way of communicating. And we have a similar set of facts and a similar way to fact checking. I can say: “it is scientific consensus that…” and point to say, something in the Field Museum. Or they could do the same. We give similar answers to “Why should I believe that…”

And I have little to no patience with people who, say, see a Limbaugh or Breitbart article on the same level, or higher level, than Scientific American.

And I bristle when someone who doesn’t know that they are talking about attempts to “splain” it all to me…especially when they are unaware that they don’t know what they are talking about.

March 7, 2017 Posted by | politics, politics/social, social/political | Leave a comment

They lie and get away with it…healthcare, wire taps, etc.

First, here is Trump’s claim that President Obama released 122 prisoners from GITMO who returned to the battlefield. Uh, 113 of these were released by President Bush:

But none of this will matter to a Trump supporter.

What about Trump’s claim that he was “wiretapped by Obama”? Well, here is what they find convincing. I actually agree that an impartial investigation is called for; let’s see the evidence used for the relevant FISA warrants. But this article does have a useful list of good article about intercepted intelligence between Trump campaign officials and the Russians.

Here is a more thoughtful article about KremlinGate and what happened. Upshot: you don’t have right to privacy when discussing things with potential spies.

And we move to healthcare. Yes, the Republicans want to give the wealthiest another tax cut and repeal some of the unpopular things from Obamacare..but things that were necessary to make it work. And they want to allow companies to charge older people 5 times more (rather than just 3) and end out of pocked subsidies. My guess: Senate will filibuster and the Republicans will say “we tried” (while breathing a sigh of relief).

March 7, 2017 Posted by | health care, politics, politics/social, republicans, tax cuts | | Leave a comment

Extra strength today?

I don’t know what is up; I felt stronger in the weight room today:

rotator cuff
pull ups (5 sets of 10)
bench presses 10 x 135, 6 x 185 (good), 10 x 170
military presses: 10 x 50 standing, 20 x 50 seated, supported (dumbbell), 10 x 45 standing
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 110
incline presses (Hammer Machine) 3 sets of 10 x 160 (80 each arm)
a LOT of squats: 2 sets of 5 with no weight, 5 x 30, then at least 6 sets (probably more) with 45-50 (goblet)
2 sets of 10 x 250 leg presses
abs (2 sets of 12 twist crunch, 10 yoga leg lifts)
headstand (ok today)

Then an easy 4 mile walk outside (Cornstalk classic)

Some days are just better than others, and today it went well. More sleep?

March 7, 2017 Posted by | walking, weight training | Leave a comment