blueollie

A slap in the face…

Well, this was my first race since Thanksgiving of last year and it showed.

It was blustery but 40’s…really not a bad running day. It was a student crowd (a few faculty; one was to pass me in the final mile). I took a 1 mile indoor warm up and perhaps 1/3 of a mile outside.

I went out at what seemed to be a reasonable pace and oh man, I felt it early. Mile 1: (so they said) 9:15???? Oh-s**t. I didn’t think that I was going THAT slowly; the second mile came at 17:25 which appeared to be more reasonable. But by then I was hurting and talking myself out of walking. There is where I got passed. The last mile (this time around the campus circle) was a slog. I saw the clock at 27:0x when I made the run and even a small burst could not get me under 28…28:09 was my final time. And yes..I was tired and out of breath.

That is my current shape. OMG….

I walked 2 miles to get to 6.

Then weights: rotator cuff, pull ups (5 sets of 10), bench press: 10 x 135, 5 x 185, 9 x 170, military: dumbbell: 10 x 50 standing, 20 x 50 seated, supported, 10 x 180 (90 each arm) machine. row: 3 sets of 10 x 110, incline: 10 x 160 (80 each arm) Hammer machine.

That was fine..though I had a hard time catching my breath between sets.

So there you go: reasonably strong in the weight room (by my standards) but just awful at running. And yes, I walked an easy 4 yesterday so I wasn’t tired.

I need to do some steady state 8 milers to get ready to race these.

March 4, 2017 Posted by | running, walking, weight training | Leave a comment