blueollie

Harsh reality for men…

carmenyouaresafe

I have a collection of “joke memes” on Facebook; actually several collections. This series is called “You’ve been dissed” and it mostly reflects my long, sorry, awkward attempts at dating “oh so long ago”. (I’ve been married for close to 21 years now, and 7 years to someone else prior to that).

I can’t speak for women. But for me, two of the most devastating things we can be told by “potential eligibles” is that:

1. We are losers of no consequence (low paying, low prestige job, or none at all…”invisible”) and
2. We are “safe”; there is no danger that we are going to be found attractive (hence the pain of being “friend zoned”).

Again, I am talking about single men. Because I am married, being in some woman’s “safe list” merely opens up the possibility of making another friend, which for someone in my position, is a great thing. I always love friends (of either sex) to run with, go to games, etc.

Workout notes: weights plus a nice 2 mile treadmill run.

The run: 10 minutes of 2 minute “Froggy” (5.2 mph, increase by .1 mph every 2 minute) then 6.7-7.1 mph for the second 10 minutes (2:30-2:30-2:30-1:30-1). 11 minutes for the first mile, 8:40 for the second. I felt very good and lose when I finished!

Weights: rotator cuff, pull ups (difficult at first), bench press: 10 x 135, 5 x 185, 9 x 170, incline press: 10 x 135 (hips down and locked down), military: 7 x 50, 10 x 45, 10 x 45 (dumbbells, standing), rows: 3 sets of 10 x 110 machine, military (machine): 10 x 90 (each arm)

Headstand was ok. I did some yoga half bridge and then tried a full bridge: I got off of the ground just a bit, but I don’t have enough back arch; I need to work on that.

And yes, last night: good exercise class, but I found out that I cannot hula-hoop! Seriously; I have to work on that. I need more hip/waist flexibility.

March 2, 2017 - Posted by | Friends, running, social/political, weight training

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

