blueollie

Harsh reality for men…

carmenyouaresafe

I have a collection of “joke memes” on Facebook; actually several collections. This series is called “You’ve been dissed” and it mostly reflects my long, sorry, awkward attempts at dating “oh so long ago”. (I’ve been married for close to 21 years now, and 7 years to someone else prior to that).

I can’t speak for women. But for me, two of the most devastating things we can be told by “potential eligibles” is that:

1. We are losers of no consequence (low paying, low prestige job, or none at all…”invisible”) and
2. We are “safe”; there is no danger that we are going to be found attractive (hence the pain of being “friend zoned”).

Again, I am talking about single men. Because I am married, being in some woman’s “safe list” merely opens up the possibility of making another friend, which for someone in my position, is a great thing. I always love friends (of either sex) to run with, go to games, etc.

Workout notes: weights plus a nice 2 mile treadmill run.

The run: 10 minutes of 2 minute “Froggy” (5.2 mph, increase by .1 mph every 2 minute) then 6.7-7.1 mph for the second 10 minutes (2:30-2:30-2:30-1:30-1). 11 minutes for the first mile, 8:40 for the second. I felt very good and lose when I finished!

Weights: rotator cuff, pull ups (difficult at first), bench press: 10 x 135, 5 x 185, 9 x 170, incline press: 10 x 135 (hips down and locked down), military: 7 x 50, 10 x 45, 10 x 45 (dumbbells, standing), rows: 3 sets of 10 x 110 machine, military (machine): 10 x 90 (each arm)

Headstand was ok. I did some yoga half bridge and then tried a full bridge: I got off of the ground just a bit, but I don’t have enough back arch; I need to work on that.

And yes, last night: good exercise class, but I found out that I cannot hula-hoop! Seriously; I have to work on that. I need more hip/waist flexibility.

March 2, 2017 Posted by | Friends, running, social/political, weight training | Leave a comment

So Sessions lied under oath…

The Washington Post reports:

Then-Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.) spoke twice last year with Russia’s ambassador to the United States, Justice Department officials said, encounters he did not disclose when asked about possible contacts between members of President Trump’s campaign and representatives of Moscow during Sessions’s confirmation hearing to become attorney general.

One of the meetings was a private conversation between Sessions and Russian Ambassador Sergey Kislyak that took place in September in the senator’s office, at the height of what U.S. intelligence officials say was a Russian cyber campaign to upend the U.S. presidential race. […]

At his Jan. 10 Judiciary Committee confirmation hearing, Sessions was asked by Sen. Al Franken (D-Minn.) what he would do if he learned of any evidence that anyone affiliated with the Trump campaign communicated with the Russian government in the course of the 2016 campaign.

“I’m not aware of any of those activities,” he responded. He added: “I have been called a surrogate at a time or two in that campaign and I did not have communications with the Russians.”

[Trump administration sought to enlist intelligence officials, key lawmakers to counter Russia stories]

Officials said Sessions did not consider the conversations relevant to the lawmakers’ questions and did not remember in detail what he discussed with Kislyak.

“There was absolutely nothing misleading about his answer,” said Sarah Isgur Flores, Sessions’s spokeswoman.

Oh, there is sure as hell was! Yes, he could say that he didn’t talk about the campaign with the Russians, and that could well be true. But what about “I did not have communications with the Russians.” is unclear? He did not say “…about the campaign”.

And why in the heck could he not say that he had a conversation and say “it wasn’t about the campaign” or “I can’t remember what we talked about”? Meeting with a foreign official isn’t a crime.

It sure appears to me that the entire Trump administration is incompetent.

March 2, 2017 Posted by | politics, politics/social | | Leave a comment