blueollie

The capacity for introspection

I was reading a “vaguebook” lament by someone on Facebook and the person included the phrase “how do some people live with themselves”.

I thought about that.

I will not pretend that I don’t make mistakes; I happen to make a LOT of them. I’ve paid for some of these. And on occasion, my thoughtlessness or obliviousness might have hurt someone.

But one of the things I do reasonably well is that I examine myself: “what did I do? How could I have done better? What went well? What should I keep doing? How much of this problem that I am facing is my fault, and what do I have control over? What can (or should) I change?”

Now I won’t pretend that I’ve never faced unfairness; I have. But the vast majority of the unfairness that I’ve faced has been, in the great scheme of things, very isolated and trivial; I have to admit that the major trajectory of my life has NOT been significantly been affected by unfairness.

I also know that there are those who grew up in grinding poverty, faced abuses of varying degrees, were let down by those who should have protected them, been denied deserved promotions, faced racism or sexism, etc. Not of that applies to me but, sadly, it does apply to others.

BUT, I’ve noticed that there are those (e. g. our current POTUS, and yes, some people that I know personally) who seem incapable of even the least bit of introspection. They are good at describing at the wrongs done to them, sometimes embellishing them, and talking about how much they give to others.

But to examine THEMSELVES as for what THEY did wrong or the hurt they caused others: Not. Going. To. Happen.

There was a time I envied such people; after all, many of my errors continue to bother me; it seems as if I remember every failure, misdeed, dishonest act, etc. Ah…to believe that I’ve never done such things…wouldn’t that be great?

Well…yes our POTUS was born rich, but few are. Most have to endure the consequences of their lack of introspection…and surprise, surprise…many end up lonely and wondering “why don’t other people accept me? It must be that they can’t handle all of my positive attributes,”, “they cannot accept a strong, smart woman”, etc. Taking a look at themselves never even occurs to them. And it never will.

March 1, 2017 Posted by | political/social, politics, politics/social, social/political | 1 Comment

So, now I know…

Last week, I did a 2.5 minute on, 2.5 minute off workout and was reduced to walking some of the recovery intervals. So this time I decided to limit my “recovery” speed to 5.3 mph (11:20 mpm) and after a 10 minute warm up, 2.5 on, 2.5 off for the next 40 minutes (6.7 x 4, 6.8 x 4) and I was able to run all of the intervals, both the on and the off. But in the final 10 minutes, I did some walking and two .25 mile intervals at 6.9 (8:40 mpm). So I had 10 repetitions (8 at 2:30, 2 were .25 miles) with run recoveries for the first 8, walk for the final 2.

Then I jogged to get to 6 in 1:02:20, and 6.21 (10 km) in 1:04:30.

I feel good, and have enough time left to recover before my first running race of the year (an on campus 5K; I am going to get totally waxed as it will be a mostly student crowd (35-38 years younger than I) , but I’ll have people to chase throughout.

So for some levity…I call this “I am bummed out”:

wallforbummed

March 1, 2017 Posted by | butt, running, spandex | Leave a comment

Trump’s Bigly Address to Congress…

Well, the bar is so low that Trump got credit..for not calling anyone a loser or a hater. And yes, this speech was a 6’th grade version of what you’d expect Presidents to say, provided you didn’t want details, or if you overlook the lies and distortions. Here is a “Fact Check” via Factcheck.org (click the link for details).

In his first address to a joint session of Congress, President Donald Trump stuck closely to his prepared remarks, but ran afoul of the facts in some cases.
Trump said the U.S. has spent $6 trillion in the Middle East and “with this $6 trillion we could have rebuilt our country.” The amount spent so far is $1.7 trillion, according to the Defense Department.

He cherry-picked the findings of a recent report, saying it found immigration costs U.S. taxpayers “billions of dollars a year.” The report said immigration “has an overall positive impact on long-run economic growth.”
Trump said “94 million Americans are out of the labor force,” a figure that includes the retired, college students and stay-at-home parents. The vast majority — 88.5 million — said they didn’t want a job.

Trump said he would “promote clean air and clean water,” a vague claim that came hours after he had signed an executive order to roll back a 2015 “Clean Water Rule.”

And the president repeated claims we’ve fact-checked before on border security, welfare, job creation since he was elected, health insurance and crime. For instance, he said the U.S. left “our own borders wide open, for anyone to cross.” But the border patrol budget and number of agents have both doubled since 2001.

As far as goals: sure, some sound good (family leave, repair of infrastructure) and I hope he gives serious action on these. But how? Details were non-existent.

And as much as I want infrastructure repair, I remain deeply skeptical.

And I found his use of the widow to be disgusting. There are serious questions about that raid, and he has avoided taking responsibility.

But my guess is that this speech played well with those who supported him most strongly.

March 1, 2017 Posted by | political/social, politics, social/political | , | Leave a comment