blueollie

Great February weather…

You won’t find me whining all that much about the weather this year.

I drove Barbara to the airport and got a slightly late start on my workout. I ran (shuffled) my 4 mile course and then did some leg weights; 4 sets of 5 squats with a 45 lb. plate, 1 with a 50 lb. dumbbell, then 10 leg presses with 230.

I’ll say a bit more; I’ve been thinking a bit about this topic: free speech (e. g. Milo Yiannopoulos speaking on campus). Yes, I know, he has no First Amendment right to be given a podium on a college campus, and I also realize that if one is teaching a college course, one should not treat crackpot ideas as if they have merit (e. g. creationism). But I still have something to say anyway, and yes, it involves the free exchange of ideas, the taking on ideas and giving them a cold blooded, logical critique, etc.

So more later…

February 17, 2017 Posted by | running, social/political, weight training | Leave a comment

The real reason the Republican Congress will continue to support Trump

Let’s be blunt: this is all it really is:

Oh yes, I saw parts of the train wreck that passed for the President Trump press conference.

And yes, I’d like to get back to arguing with Republicans about things like policy; right now we are arguing about following the rule of law and about basic competence. And yes, while past presidents have told an occasional whopper, fibbed, etc., what President Trump is doing is highly unusual. For example, who in the hell lies about having “the greatest Electoral College victor since President Reagan? Hint: George H. W. Bush, Bill Clinton (twice) and Barack Obama (twice) had larger Electoral College Victories.

But, for now, the Republicans think that they can get what they want, though maybe Trump’s incompetence may slow down, and perhaps even stall the more noxious parts of the Republican agenda.

February 17, 2017 Posted by | political/social, politics, politics/social, social/political | | Leave a comment