blueollie

Sore butt but…

This is not “butt hurt” in the metaphorical sense but rather “sore gluteal” muscles.

I’ve been trying to do squats

cassiesquat

Main sets 4-5 sets of 5 with 45-50 lbs. done in this style. Lately, I’ve been getting more depth; I am getting below parallel now. In the past, I’ve overdone it and pulled a muscle. So I am approaching it slowly and yesterday’s sets left me a bit sore.

So today’s warm up was a bit sluggish; I felt tugs and pings at first. But eventually I warmed up and I did my “sprint the hills” workout…jogging and deliberately walking a few steps prior to each hill rep and walking a few steps after. If I can keep running after cresting the hill, I did not do the hill hard enough.

The idea is to feel “mile race” intensity during each rep (6 in all; one is a flat rep from the bottom of Cornstalk hill to the parking lot)

When I got going, I was fine. But I wonder if I went hard enough? The total is 5.1 miles and it took me about 1:04-1:05 to finish it all.

We’ll see where this leads; my guess is that stronger gluteal muscles will lead to fewer problems with my back. And the next time my yoga teacher yells “nice ass” at me…maybe she’ll be actually telling the truth? 🙂 Nah.

February 15, 2017 Posted by | running | | Leave a comment