blueollie

Pavlov’s Dogs, 5Ks and Purple Spandex

On Facebook, I do a series of “You’ve been Dissed” memes; these are memes that make fun of my awkward past when I attempted to date. I had zero confidence in myself and always took rejection hard.

Now I can laugh. So I do. A few ladies allowed me to use their photos for such memes and when scouting the photos, I found a couple which brought back memories.

Back in the mid 1990’s (1995, I think), I bought my then ladyfriend (and currently wife) some purple spandex running tights. Here, she is wearing them in a play where she plays a Peg Bundy type character.

babsaspeg

It turns out that she wore these when she walked a Race For the Cure; she also wore a “long shirt” (snicker) that did not quite make it all the way down; the result was “clear as a bell” VPLs…a nice triangle that I still remember. But alas, I had no camera at that time, but I think that from then on, purple spandex reminded me of that. And now to the photos for the memes:

tpurplespandex

The above was taken at the 2011 4’th of July Firecracker race. I was racing T during those days; this time the weather came up sweltering (I do poorly in heat) and I had not recovered from my double red cell blood donation. But I saw her at the starting line and foolishly went out too fast trying to keep her in sight. At the end, I was doing the “walk of shame”.

Then this is Cassie; we often swap workout stories and workout motivation, and she loves to take workout selfies. From time to time she tags me in them or will PM me with one. I felt that this one (purple spandex) would make a good meme.

cassienevergonnagetthis

February 10, 2017 - Posted by | Friends, running, spandex

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

