blueollie

Pavlov’s Dogs, 5Ks and Purple Spandex

On Facebook, I do a series of “You’ve been Dissed” memes; these are memes that make fun of my awkward past when I attempted to date. I had zero confidence in myself and always took rejection hard.

Now I can laugh. So I do. A few ladies allowed me to use their photos for such memes and when scouting the photos, I found a couple which brought back memories.

Back in the mid 1990’s (1995, I think), I bought my then ladyfriend (and currently wife) some purple spandex running tights. Here, she is wearing them in a play where she plays a Peg Bundy type character.

babsaspeg

It turns out that she wore these when she walked a Race For the Cure; she also wore a “long shirt” (snicker) that did not quite make it all the way down; the result was “clear as a bell” VPLs…a nice triangle that I still remember. But alas, I had no camera at that time, but I think that from then on, purple spandex reminded me of that. And now to the photos for the memes:

tpurplespandex

The above was taken at the 2011 4’th of July Firecracker race. I was racing T during those days; this time the weather came up sweltering (I do poorly in heat) and I had not recovered from my double red cell blood donation. But I saw her at the starting line and foolishly went out too fast trying to keep her in sight. At the end, I was doing the “walk of shame”.

Then this is Cassie; we often swap workout stories and workout motivation, and she loves to take workout selfies. From time to time she tags me in them or will PM me with one. I felt that this one (purple spandex) would make a good meme.

cassienevergonnagetthis

February 10, 2017 Posted by | Friends, running, spandex | Leave a comment

Indiana State 56 Bradley 54: Braves as cold as the weather

We had a mild snowstorm (unusual for THIS winter, but seasonal) and a cold snap that put the overnight temperature into the teens. (F) So, given that ISU-blue was last in the conference, Bradley was 8 out of 10 and there was an 8 pm start to the game, attendance wasn’t great:

bradleyisubluewarmup

Announced attendance was just over 5000, but I doubt that there was even half of that actually at the game. But we were there.

bradleyisubluebabsandme

And Bradley showed up, at least for the first half. Bradley jumped out to an early lead (hitting some 3 point shots; 50 percent in the first half) and lead 27-15 early. ISU rallied to cut into the lead, but a late 9-2 run put Bradley up 38-27 at the half. Things were looking up.

bradleyisubluehereweareend

Bradley paraded its “athletes on the honor roll” at the half. I saw some of my students out there.

But then came the second half. While ISU made some good defensive adjustments, Bradley was so poor from the free throw line, they averaged 50 percent for the game. And this was *everyone*; this wasn’t a matter of the team’s worst shooter getting free throws most of the time.

And it took BU 10:30 to get its FIRST field goal (yes, 10:30 field goal drought) and BU was to go…THREE for TWENTY FOUR in the second half. 24 shots (many lay ups), 3 makes. That is not a misprint.

Needless to say, ISU took a small lead…but somehow, somehow, Bradley got it back and lead 54-51 with 1:48 to go. All that, and still BU lead.

But they left open ISU’s best shooter for a 3, and then gave up a lay up. BU called a time out but could only get off a bad look 3 point shot. That missed but with a few seconds to go, BU got a steal! With 1.8 seconds, a BU player desperately tried to call “time out” but the referee didn’t see it; he watched the driving desperation attempt from afar, which missed.

bradleyisubluehonorroll

And thus ended Bradley’s hopes of putting together back to back conference wins.

This was perhaps the most disappointing game of the season. Yeah, the guys tried, but they seem to lack confidence in themselves; they have that “oh no!” aura when things go wrong.

February 10, 2017 Posted by | basketball | | Leave a comment

Back topics

My back has gotten quite a bit better. Still, I cannot neglect it; it does stiffen up when I sit for too long.

Workouts:

Yesterday: I ran on the treadmill. 5 minutes each (incline 0.5): 5.2, 5.3, 5.4, 5.5. Then 2 x (6.7 for 2:30, 5.5 for 2:30), 2 x (6.8 for 2:30, 5.5 for 2:30), 4 x (6.9 at 2:30, 5.6 at 2:30); 1:01:04 for 6 miles, 1:03:20 for 6.21 miles (10K) The back was slightly stiff.

Evening: exercise class with Ms. Vickie (teacher) and Jennifer

Today: I slept in a bit (to 5:30) and went to work early; after 9-10 class I lifted and walked 17 laps (just over 2 miles) in 27:31 (13:13, 12:40 were my 8 lap splits)

Lifting: rotator cuff
pull ups: 5 sets of 10…easy today.
bench: very gingerly: 10 x 135, 5 x 185 (reasonably flat back), 6 x 170 (did not want to push my luck)
incline: 10 x 135 (very careful)
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 110 machine.
military presses: 6 x 85 barbell, 2 sets of 10 with the machine..very careful

Bodyweight: 192.6 afterward; the lightest I’ve been in a while.

February 10, 2017 Posted by | running, walking, weight training | , | Leave a comment