blueollie

catching up on workouts…sore back, etc.

Yesterday: 5 walking miles on the treadmill in 1:02:04.
today: weights, 33 laps of lane 1 in 49:38; 12:30/12:02/11:59/11:40/1:26. Interestingly enough, the difference between my “quick walk pace” and my “easy run pace” is close to non-existent.

Weights: yes, my back is MUCH better; I have much more flexibility in it (as measured by the “press ups”. But I still was oh-so-cautious ..and perhaps used better form with the weights.

pull ups: 2 sets of 5-5-5, 2 sets of 10 (5-5-5: change grip with very short rests in between). rotator cuff
bench press: 10 x 135, 9 x 170, 4 x 180 (very, very flat back; no arch at all; not even a “legal, hips touching” arch.
incline press: slow, slow 5 x 135 keeping those hips in place.

inclinepresses

Yeah, I pretended my one of my better looking workout partners was assisting me. No, I won’t tell you who. šŸ™‚

rows: 3 slow, careful sets of 10 with the Hammer machine: 105 lbs. each arm.
military: 2 very careful sets of 10 with the machines, medium weight. NO arch.
squats: lots of free, lots of kettle style squats with 45 lb plates; MUCH better depth than before …while using a front wall to keep me from leaning forward. I am getting stronger here.

cassiesquat

Then came the walk.

February 7, 2017 - Posted by | injury, walking, weight training | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

