blueollie

Super Bowl Sunday Silliness ….

I started out by going to the gym to lift very gingerly for a few minutes, then I got a nice 8 mile run/walk with the lovely Mamma T. That was a lot of fun.

Back: a bit sore, but I did quite a few back stretches during the lifting portion.

weight: 196.8 prior to lifting.

rotator cuff
pull ups: 4 sets of 10 (not that bad), 2 sets of 5. I kept my upper body more rigid than normal due to back issues and that made pull ups harder.
bench
bench press: barbell: 10 x 135, 2 x 170 (didn’t feel good so I quit), dumbbells: 2 sets of 10 x 60, 2 sets of 10 x 70 (ok)
rows: 3 sets of 10 with the machine.

Lots of back stuff.

Then I met T and we went from the Riverplex to the place where the bike path hits the road on Bishop hill; it was about 8.3 miles total. We ran and walked and it was just right for me. I hope that T got the workout she needed.

tgettheleadout

So, for some silliness: Tracy is coming over for our Super Bowl Party and I am looking forward to it.

carmensuperbowl

February 5, 2017 Posted by | injury, running, weight training | , , , | Leave a comment

Bradley women finish the weekend sweep; beat Indiana State 54-41

bradleyisuwomenwin1

This time, one of the power forwards stepped up and scored 18 points, and the whole team played excellent defense as the Bradley women won its second game in a row.

The team trailed by 2 points at the end of the first quarter (14-12) but the defense stepped up and only allowed 27 points over the remaining 3 quarters. They held ISU to 27 percent shooting and only 10 percent from 3 point range. BU out rebounded ISU as well; it was a great win all the way around.

I think that the freshman point guard is a major factor for the team’s improvement.

That finishes a 3 game weekend sweep; women winning two games and the men winning one. I could get very used to this! Note: yesterday’s and today’s wins were against “mid pack of the MVC” teams, not “bottom dwelling” teams.

February 5, 2017 Posted by | basketball | | Leave a comment